• Welcome to Smashboards, the world's largest Super Smash Brothers community! Over 250,000 Smash Bros. fans from around the world have come to discuss these great games in over 19 million posts!

You are currently viewing our boards as a visitor. Click here to sign up right now and start on your path in the Smash community!

Fox vs. Marth Neutral

Roey

Smash Rookie
Hey, I was having some trouble playing against Marth in the neutral game. I have trouble short hop double laser and I know that is one of the very important parts of Fox neutral and was wondering if you guys had any tips. I'm relatively new to Fox and if you guys have any other tips on his neutral I'd appreciate it.
Thanks

dlai226

Smash Rookie
I think SHDL is overrated, there are better things to work on as Fox. But to answer your question there's no real trick except for practicing to learn it. I personally do Y>B>B but there are people who use tap jump to do it. I find short hop fast fall single laser is safer to do and serves the same purpose but that's just me.

What usually works for me against Marth is getting up close and pressuring him. Marth has a weak shield and can die really easily against Fox. These two videos by Kira are pretty good starts to learning the basics of Fox's neutral:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7euwVDL_In4
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S5WLjB8qOTE

Cres

Smash Rookie
Well for Fox v Marth it can be a bit difficult because you feel as if you're gonna get stuffed at whatever approach you make but a big tip in the match up is, don't approach too much unless you have a solid understanding of their movement and their attack patterns.

First tip would be for approaching I guess, A lot of times if you're fighting a good marth you'll see him dash dancing and waiting for an opening, this is where honestly I find the match up incredibly fun.