• Welcome to Smashboards, the world's largest Super Smash Brothers community! Over 250,000 Smash Bros. fans from around the world have come to discuss these great games in over 19 million posts!

You are currently viewing our boards as a visitor. Click here to sign up right now and start on your path in the Smash community!

Dorf Stages: When and Why

VegiLohrd

Smash Apprentice
I'm new to competitive Melee, and I fell in love with the 'Dorf. The power, the (lack of) speed, everything about him is fun to play.

BUT I lack knowledge on what stages are best for him to play on and why.

For example, I know Final Destination is probably one of if not his worst stage due to lack of platforms. And I know that popular consensus is that Dream Land is his best. So these questions arise:

1. Why is Dream Land considered the best Ganondorf stage over say Battlefield or Yoshi's Story?
2. Is there ever any reason to pick another stage if Dream Land is available?
3. Is there any time when I shouldn't pick a certain stage, like against certain characters or something?

Эикельманн [РУС]

Banned via Administration
1. wouldn't say that i personally believe, or have heard that dream land is ganondorfs best stage. see my last paragraph though.
2. yes, absolutely. you generally shouldn't be taking floaty characters to dream land unless your preference is highly skewed towards it. stages for ganondorf are heavily matchup dependent (this is the case for many characters, tbh)
3. preference plays a big role here as well, but there are some stages that are outright terrible for ganondorf in certain matchups, such as FD vs falcon, sheik, or zoning-based characters.

my personal favourite stage is yoshis because ganondorf generally has an easier time walling out his opponents there and your strengths are mostly amplified there as well (killpower becomes much more relevant).