• Welcome to Smashboards, the world's largest Super Smash Brothers community! Over 250,000 Smash Bros. fans from around the world have come to discuss these great games in over 19 million posts!

You are currently viewing our boards as a visitor. Click here to sign up right now and start on your path in the Smash community!

Counter to cover opponents' recoveries?

theleeryone

Smash Rookie
Given that a majority of the cast's recovery options involve some form of attack, it seems that Marth's counter would be helpful in limiting those recoveries. I myself use this option on occasion. However, I don't see this happen often when more skilled players are at the controls, so I presume there's a fairly good reason to consider it a poor option.

Given that I'm fairly new to competitive Marth, I'm not sure what that reason would be. Any thoughts?

Foodies

Smash Journeyman
It works, but it's easier to do on some recoveries than others. Your opponent can either delay or do their upB early in most situations to avoid the counter if you are too predictable with it, which puts you in a bad situation. But in the cases where they have to use their recovery at a certain time and angle it's an easy edgeguard for you. There's always the option of just fairing or bairing to edgeguard too.

Tattles

Smash Journeyman
NNID
Goldbit
The ledge is a lot easier to grab now, so most recoveries with a hitbox will never touch Marth if he's on the stage. However, Ike is probably the easiest to do this against, since a popular Ike strategy is to basically just Aether through the stage.

Maybe running off the stage and countering would work better, but obviously has some riskiness to it.

EternalFlame

Smash Ace
NNID
Eterna1Flame
3DS FC
1993-8719-0815