• Welcome to Smashboards, the world's largest Super Smash Brothers community! Over 250,000 Smash Bros. fans from around the world have come to discuss these great games in over 19 million posts!

You are currently viewing our boards as a visitor. Click here to sign up right now and start on your path in the Smash community!

Chain Grabbing in Friendlies?

thf24

Smash Cadet
Relative newbie here... I've never heard that chain grabbing spacies was frowned upon in friendlies in the same way that, say, wobbling is in many places. I personally wouldn't think so it is since it's harder than wobbling and not guaranteed past a point, and I'd think people would understand the need for practice against a real opponent. But, after recently adding it to my arsenal and trying to implement it, friendlies opponents in my local scene get visibly irritated at it in the same way they do when our resident IC's player who doesn't give a f starts wobbling. Are they just being irrationally salty, or is the chain grab actually considered disrespectful in friendlies?

Last edited:

AirFair

Marth tho
I think you should chaingrab, because it's good for practicing it. If they don't like it, then they should find out how to beat it instead of complaining.

Xyzz

Smash Champion
Chaingrabs are as valid a tactic to accrue percentage on the opponent as comboing him.
Quite a few people do consider wobbling, excessive bair spam by a certain pink ball, or chain grabs 'boring'. However, nobody can force you to play flashy, not even in friendlies. Sadly, you can't force them to play friendlies with you either, so in some cases you might be better off not relying on these things too much.