• Welcome to Smashboards, the world's largest Super Smash Brothers community! Over 250,000 Smash Bros. fans from around the world have come to discuss these great games in over 19 million posts!

You are currently viewing our boards as a visitor. Click here to sign up right now and start on your path in the Smash community!

Best Follow-Up After Down Throw?

kswef

Button Pressing Master
I am fairly new to this game and whenever I down throw as the character I use most I usually up smash or for some odd reason in my head I feel the need to dash attack or grab which most of the time doesn't work, so I came here to ask you all about what is the best follow up after down throwing. Should I keep up smashing or should I try to do an aerial? Any help is appreciated.

SpikeyMike

Smash Rookie
This all greatly depends on which character you're using down throw on as different things happen to different opponents when they are thrown. Keep in mind I'm just giving you a general guideline here, there are WAY more in-depth things out there.

Fox/Falcon/C. Falcon - These three characters fall faster than any other character in the game. When dthrow is used on them it is near-impossible to get an instant follow up with a move. What you should be doing is waiting until they hit the ground after the throw and reacting to which way they tech (towards you, away, or in place) or if they tech at all. This is called tech chasing. If you react quick enough you can follow up with another grab and start the tech chase all over again. If they don't tech they are open to jab->regrab, usmash, dsmash, or you can sheild their get up attack/react to their roll/neutral getup and try for another grab. These all usually work as long as you time them right.