• Welcome to Smashboards, the world's largest Super Smash Brothers community! Over 250,000 Smash Bros. fans from around the world have come to discuss these great games in over 19 million posts!

You are currently viewing our boards as a visitor. Click here to sign up right now and start on your path in the Smash community!

Young Links Short Hop

Skyshroud

Smash Ace
Hey guys, I'm kind of new to the whole competitive smash thing, so I was learning the advance techniques. I pretty much have the wavedash down now, but I'm having problems SHing with Young Link.

I've followed guides and practiced, but I can't seem to get it down consistantly (unless I'm using a slower character). The only times I do get it is when I "flick" the X button on the bottom, which just depresses it enough to trigger the short hop. However, it has been hard and inconsistant for me in matches.

So, I was wondering if you guys had any short hopping tips for Young Link. Also, how do you guys do the short hop? (what button do you press, and are there any little things you do (like the flick I described) that might help me out?)

Skyshroud

Smash Ace
Ok, fair enough, but would anyone mind saying how they do it? (see first post for details) I'd like to try a bunch of different ways and buttons till I found something comfortable, and just wanted to know what you guys use for SHing.

Wak

BRoomer
BRoomer
... I use Y to jump and short hop (i don't see why i should use another button to short hop anyway

and I short hop double laser (with fox) with the stick but that's just me

ThatGuy

Smash Master
Just practice (that's what I had to do) a bit, try applying it in matches, you'll get it in no time. You could try practicing SHing with Fox to make it easier for you with other characters.

Pneuma

Smash Ace
Yeah, practice with ICs, Sheik, or Fox to get really fast at it.