• Welcome to Smashboards, the world's largest Super Smash Brothers community! Over 250,000 Smash Bros. fans from around the world have come to discuss these great games in over 19 million posts!

You are currently viewing our boards as a visitor. Click here to sign up right now and start on your path in the Smash community!

Will R.O.B. rise up in the ranks?

horizons889

Smash Apprentice
I'm relatively new to smash. I've been mainly sticking with Ness and Fox. I messed around with R.O.B. the other day and he seems pretty strong. Good kill moves, up-air seems nice, great recovery, etc. Not to mention, I find him very fun to play. So my question is why is he ranked relatively low on most tier lists? Will he be one of the characters to rise up in the meta game later on? Or is there something hindering him from achieving that.

Mister Eric

Twitch.tv/MisterbeepEric Twitter: @MisterbeepEric
NNID
MisterEric
3DS FC
1075-1236-8207
Here's my take on ROB:

At low to mid level, ROB is good. Up smashes that scoop you. Nair that seems nonpunishable. Up b for days. Spam.
These are a few things that make an average player want to throw their controller. And that's cute.

At high level and above play, it gets less and less cute.
We are punished for our size, our linear recovery, our lack of combo breakers, our not so safe SH nair.
We are called out on our gyro gimmicks, on our upsmash only hitting at a wide reach while they are on the ground, and our lack of tilt range.

This is where top lvl ROBs usually get further ahead of the pac. Because to compete with ROB at a top lvl requires a lot of discipline. It's knowing how to use your recovery to the fullest, how to do gyro setups on a whim without making them obvious, how to insta toss into combos, how to mix up landings to a science, how to use every movement tool such as instant gyro cancelling and perfect pivots to make every moment worth while.