• Welcome to Smashboards, the world's largest Super Smash Brothers community! Over 250,000 Smash Bros. fans from around the world have come to discuss these great games in over 19 million posts!

You are currently viewing our boards as a visitor. Click here to sign up right now and start on your path in the Smash community!

Why Mac Loses To Bowser

Rekzius

Smash Apprentice
Look, i used to think mac won this matchup at one point. However it is now very clear to me that mac loses this matchup. And here is my reasoning……… I'm not good with intros.

“The main issue”

First look at this:

Bowser grab range is HUGE*, and his Pivot grab is even longer. This is the main reason why i think this MU is hard for Mac. Mac has a really hard time dealing with grabs. Its really that simple........OK fine there is a lot more to it than that. But, really this is the main reason.

(*I know the guy in the gif input a roll about one frame before bowser grabs him, but still that is a lot of grab range. Neither is the normal grab the main point anyway.)*

Bowser used to get pretty much nothing of his grab, Only about 12% from a down-throw or any of his other throws.. As most of you know his up-throw was changed in 1.1.3 It now combos into nair at low percents and up-air at higher percents. This deals a LOT of damage, the hitboxes are a bit janky so damage may differ. It can however deal around 20-30% in one combo. That is a lot of damage for a lightweight like mac. At higher percents it also combos into up-air. This can kill you extremely early, I have been killed as early as 70% because of Bowser rage.

"But, i thought they nerfed his up-throw in 1.1.4"

Yes this is true, however it barely matters at all. Mac is the perfect weight,fall speed and gravity to killed by this combo. The range for this move killing little mac is actually huge even after the nerf.
No rage 88%-122%
I was not able to test with rage, but it mostly scales downwards both in kill and hit percentage.