• Welcome to Smashboards, the world's largest Super Smash Brothers community! Over 250,000 Smash Bros. fans from around the world have come to discuss these great games in over 19 million posts!

You are currently viewing our boards as a visitor. Click here to sign up right now and start on your path in the Smash community!

Questions about the usefuleness of some of wolf's moves/ some thoughts

pIlsner

Smash Rookie
apparantly every t ime I typed w olf it translated into kitty. (**** april fools joke). So in this article kitty= w olf

So I started playing wolf about a week ago and definitely picked him up pretty fast and really began to like his style so I'm thinking about trying to get in depth with him and get pretty good.

I have so far pretty much figured out the uses for some of his better smashes for most situations. Yet, his down tilt doesn't seem to have any part in my play style because it doesn't even come close to the power of dsmash. According to Drack's guide the downtilt hits for 6% and the down smash hits for 13-14%. They seem to come out at about the same speed. The down smash I use for KO's all the time so I just don't see the use.

Also, his up tilt might have KO potential, but so does the up smash. It does come out a bit quicker but I can find very little situations to use it in.

Lastly, how do you (if ever) use his neutral air? I have read about using the neutral air in combo with his shine but haven't really tried it out enough yet.

Some thoughts/advice on wolf so far:

1. A defensive wolf seems to be a pretty powerful method of approaching some characters. I face my back to the enemy when a decent distance away, which gives me the option of back kicking him, dodging, rolling, or many other things when the opponent charges. Wolf also does well reflecting projectiles if they start to poke at you from afar. You can't really use this method the whole game because they will figure out how to get around it, but its good every once in a while.