• Welcome to Smashboards, the world's largest Super Smash Brothers community! Over 250,000 Smash Bros. fans from around the world have come to discuss these great games in over 19 million posts!

You are currently viewing our boards as a visitor. Click here to sign up right now and start on your path in the Smash community!

spoonyd

Smash Apprentice
Hey all. I'm kinda new to all this tech on this site. A lot of what I've tried seems near impossible to do on any regular basis. Am I the only one that had this kinda trouble? Just L-canceling everytime seems extremely hard, let alone putting it in conjunction with something else. Got some suggestions for me about how to learn this? Is it even worth it because I'm already so far behind? Any words would be very helpful.

Juce

Smash Ace
It's completely worth it. Even within a month, if you practice. you'll look back and laugh that you were having trouble commiting to L-canceling. It's hard to remember to do and still think about how you're playing, but after a few matches of trying to do it consistently you'll notice that it becomes just an automatic thing.

spoonyd

Smash Apprentice
Should I practice more like in training mode on 2/3 speed? Is that something that's recommended? I assume L-canceling is the first thing to learn and the most important.

Juce

Smash Ace
I wouldn't practice in slower speeds unless it's just to see the difference in lag. It might be harder to adjust to at first, but making sure you do it in normal speed will pay off most in the end, rather than learning it in a slow speed and then relearning it in normal speed.

One thing to watch out for is that there's a difference on when you need to L-cancel when you hit someone and when you don't hit anything because if you hit someone the attack has hitfreeze and so the L-cancel will actually have to be later.