• Welcome to Smashboards, the world's largest Super Smash Brothers community! Over 250,000 Smash Bros. fans from around the world have come to discuss these great games in over 19 million posts!

You are currently viewing our boards as a visitor. Click here to sign up right now and start on your path in the Smash community!

New fox player, need help getting better and please critique

airstrikee

Smash Rookie
I've been practicing fox for about 2 months now, and I would say that I am still a novice. I am still trying to master tech skill and I have yet to learn many fundamentals of melee that I have not yet discovered.

Here is a set between me and kage the warrior: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YAio27h786A

I obviously got bodied but if you have time please critique my gameplay and provide constructive criticism. I remember there were many moments where I had no idea what to do when I was getting pressured by him, and I know that my punish game wasn't great.

Criticism on my gameplay, tips for punish game, or identifying any of my mistakes would be great. This is my first match recorded and due to my beginner knowledge of the game I'm not too sure on how I can critique myself and identify mistakes so that I could learn from them, and knowing how to consistently improve.

Thank you for your time

2 +

Smash Cadet
I'm a noob myself but some advice.
You don't have to approach. You seemed to try to go in for the hit almost every time it reset to neutral, rather than bait out your opponent or apply laser pressure to get a reaction. Fox has good movement and good OoS play, and ganon is slow and easy to react to. You should try to make ganon do something unsafe.

Also when you go in mixup with grab more, you definitely used shfl'd nair a lot which you can get punished for if you don't do the nair super late. Full hop nair is even worse.

Kage is a great player, you'll probably learn more by playing people not so far ahead of you.

Last edited:

fratstar

Smash Rookie