• Welcome to Smashboards, the world's largest Super Smash Brothers community! Over 250,000 Smash Bros. fans from around the world have come to discuss these great games in over 19 million posts!

You are currently viewing our boards as a visitor. Click here to sign up right now and start on your path in the Smash community!

Need help defeating a yoshi.

SirChubbs

Smash Rookie
I am relatively new with the advanced techniques and stuff, and I tend to have trouble beating him.-He mains yoshi. I have no videos though and can't get any.

I have a little tourney expierience as i went 2 one but did not participate(only in friendlies) but he has none.

I am starting to get the hang of l cancelling, ledge hopping, i can short hop, I am still working on DI, and I need to learn to shffl still to name some things.

I still have a hard time w. bomb jump and have no clue on how to bomb tech.

I've read a few of the guides posted and they have improved my game alot, though I still need to work some stuff/

Although we both know little of the advanced techniques, I know more than him, course that doesn't matter.

He loves ccing and usually when I start throwing projectiles and stuff at him he starts egg spamming instead of shielding instead forcing me to shield and lets him get up close, where a yoshi can do some damage.

Some situations that happen often

I D smash or Fsmash, he ccs, either grabs and combos, or Dsmashes and if I am at a high damage, I usually go off the edge and he egg spams, and If i am under stage and can't sweet spot edge, it usually ends up in hook recovery and the I get Dsmashed.

What I need help with is how to counteract his style, I've tended to play defensive against him and spam projectiles as it has worked best although he tends to counter with egg spam.