• Welcome to Smashboards, the world's largest Super Smash Brothers community! Over 250,000 Smash Bros. fans from around the world have come to discuss these great games in over 19 million posts!

You are currently viewing our boards as a visitor. Click here to sign up right now and start on your path in the Smash community!

I'm a new player and could use some advice

PineappleTommy

Smash Rookie
So I started playing about a month and half ago. I play with some school friends on dolphin. I can wavedash consistently and still learning to shffl. What should I learn next as a marth main? Should I have a secondary? Is buying a crt for my wii worth it? Should I enter resistance 4?

Era)

KZOO SMASH CEO
While I have minimal Marth knowledge, it is absolutely imperative that you get a CRT to play on. Not only are CRT's generally pretty cheap (Or free), you're going to notice an immediate difference. As far as a secondary, It's always good to have options, especially if someone has your character figured out.

meebius

Smash Apprentice
You shouldn't be worrying about having a secondary this early into the game

A CRT provides almost 0 frame drops while a HD TV can drop anywhere between 4-6 frames and will drastically affect your gameplay

If you want to continue maining Marth, practice dash dancing in and out of your opponent's moves
This is a good video that goes over proper spacing
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RfBuAo_Bfvw

Narpas_sword

You shouldn't be worrying about having a secondary this early into the game

A CRT provides almost 0 frame drops while a HD TV can drop anywhere between 4-6 frames and will drastically affect your gameplay

If you want to continue maining Marth, practice dash dancing in and out of your opponent's moves
This is a good video that goes over proper spacing
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RfBuAo_Bfvw
HDTV dont 'Drop frames' as far as im aware =/

They have input lag, sure, and it can be drastic depending on tv.