• Welcome to Smashboards, the world's largest Super Smash Brothers community! Over 250,000 Smash Bros. fans from around the world have come to discuss these great games in over 19 million posts!

You are currently viewing our boards as a visitor. Click here to sign up right now and start on your path in the Smash community!

how do i pick my main?

Smash_Ronin

Smash Apprentice
3DS FC
2277-7158-4313
so i'm just getting into the competitive smash world and i have a friend who is training me the meta of the game. but the last time we got together, as i was leaving, he said "you gotta pick a main soon... we can keep drilling techs but it won't matter if you never pick a main". WHY IS IT SO HARD FOR ME TO PICK A MAIN!! originally i thought mewtwo, then i switched to roy (to which my friend suggested i move to marth). but to be completely honest i'd REALLY like to be a lucario main. "that's a big order" was the response my friend had, "besides being one of the techiest characters in the game, i really don't know much about him and wouldn't be able to teach you much from the character's specific meta".

can someone PLEASE help me find my main. or rather, could someone please tell me the best way for me to find my main. obviously i've been trying to decide from lucario, roy, and mewtwo (marth just doesn't feel intuitive enough for me) but i'm completely open to a whole new idea.

TheKmanOfSmash

Smash Ace
3DS FC
3196-5443-8100
Play the character that makes you the most happy playing him or her. Or play multiple characters.You don't HAVE to choose a main, no one's putting a gun against your head. There's no rush. Just chill and enjoy what the game has to offer and stuff like a main will come over time.

ECHOnce

Smash Lord