• Welcome to Smashboards, the world's largest Super Smash Brothers community! Over 250,000 Smash Bros. fans from around the world have come to discuss these great games in over 19 million posts!

You are currently viewing our boards as a visitor. Click here to sign up right now and start on your path in the Smash community!

First time tournament... Few questions?

Fev

Smash Cadet
Standards:

Bracket type. What is more commonly used, single elimination? Or Double? I read sometimes it is based on the number of people, but like I said, I am very new to this.

Rule set.
Stock: 3
Items: Off
Certain levels banned, certain set for random (to be determined later for Brawl)

Hosting at home. So I have my own house, but I worry of the danger of hosting with so many people. I believe I have the space, but what are peoples experiences with hosting from home?

Read the ABC's of hosting tournies, but still, looks like I still have a few questions.

S623

Smash Apprentice
Just wait. People will post eventually.

Typically, tournaments go with 4-stock matches timed at 8 minutes each, unless there's some kind of time constraint.

Naybewon

Smash Ace
If there's 20 or more people, in my experience it's been double elimination (so the losers go into the losers bracket and fight their way up to the top of THAT) At the end, the winner of the losers bracket has to fight the winner of the winners bracket and have to win 3/5 times (whereas the rest of the rounds have been the best 2/3 times).

Stages with random effects or things that change gravity/speed/accuracy or can kill you for no reason are generally off, no items, 4 stock and 10 minutes.

Fev

Smash Cadet
I'll always wondered, but haven't asked yet. Why is the common stock setting 4? 3 not enough? Even when doing best out of 3?

Fev

Smash Cadet
More noob questions:

1) I see there are neutral stages and counterpick ones? I assume the neutral stages are the random select ones, but whats the counterpick business =p?