• Welcome to Smashboards, the world's largest Super Smash Brothers community! Over 250,000 Smash Bros. fans from around the world have come to discuss these great games in over 19 million posts!

You are currently viewing our boards as a visitor. Click here to sign up right now and start on your path in the Smash community!

Controller question

Denexus-Hell

Smash Rookie
Hey guys i'm new to this forum and i'm a beginner in smash (i played brawl but you know i was like 10 years old so...) I bought a wii u some days ago and i have a metal mario controller. I have ordered a GC controller and an adapter but I would like to know why is it better ? because everyone is using it so I wanted to know the problem with the luigi, toad, metal mario etc. controllers

MarioManTAW

Smash Ace
Hey guys i'm new to this forum and i'm a beginner in smash (i played brawl but you know i was like 10 years old so...) I bought a wii u some days ago and i have a metal mario controller. I have ordered a GC controller and an adapter but I would like to know why is it better ? because everyone is using it so I wanted to know the problem with the luigi, toad, metal mario etc. controllers
The difference is two-fold. One, the character controllers are not made by Nintendo, but by either Hori (the more faithful recreation) or PDP. Two, they don't work the same way as GameCube controllers, but are more like Wii Classic controllers. They don't connect to GameCube ports, but to Wiimote ports, so they are technically anchored wireless controllers. Also, the triggers are more like those of the Wii Classic: there are 4 of them, they are all digital (don't have the same squishy feel as GC controllers), and they are in a different layout from the GC controllers (GC has Z on top, L and R on bottom; 3rd-party ones have L and R on top, ZL and ZR on bottom).

All this from a Wii U Pro controller user who says it is completely okay to not use GC controllers, so if you like the fake ones better, go right ahead.