• Welcome to Smashboards, the world's largest Super Smash Brothers community! Over 250,000 Smash Bros. fans from around the world have come to discuss these great games in over 19 million posts!

You are currently viewing our boards as a visitor. Click here to sign up right now and start on your path in the Smash community!

Comboing with Fox

Eonn

Smash Apprentice
NNID
SirEon
I'm new to Fox and haaving trouble comboing. All I really know is uthrow to uair and waveshine to grap or upsmash.

What moves are best for starting combos and how do I follow up properly? Thanks!

20YY SS | Saiblade

Obviously not biased towards Falco
3DS FC
3239-4949-5301
You should try Falco, he's awesome. Seriously though, try nair, dair, dtilt, jab, etc. Watch videos of foxes comboing and it should help.

BRUJO~

Smash Apprentice
Jab:
-very high percents (~100 on floaties, ~130 on fast fallers) sets up for upsmash ( you may have to walk forward or turnaround depending on how far they are sent from the jab.

Nair combos into intself or sets up a tech chase situation at most moderate percents. At low percents it can combo directly into a shine or grab.

Weak bair comboes into everything fox has, you just need to get creative with when and where.

Dash attack sets up a tech chase against fast fallers and is a launcher against floaties at mid-high percent. The down side is it is crouch cancellable until relatively high percents.

Dair sets up for shine as we all know, but against characters where shine follow ups are difficult (puff, luigi, ics, etc.) it can be preferable to just dair grab instead. Dair upsmash is also a true combo if done quickly enough but is countered by sdi on the drill.

The chain grab on spacies is essential.

Up throw under a platform often sets up a tech chase on the platform, which you can follow up with waveland>grab or just reacting to their get up with an upair/bair/nair.