• Welcome to Smashboards, the world's largest Super Smash Brothers community! Over 250,000 Smash Bros. fans from around the world have come to discuss these great games in over 19 million posts!

You are currently viewing our boards as a visitor. Click here to sign up right now and start on your path in the Smash community!

Best N64 Controller to Buy for Online PC Use?

Akhilles

Smash Rookie
Hello!

I'm pretty new to the scene here and am trying to get involved. I play lots of Smash 64 with friends in my apartment building while in med school, and want to start playing online. I was looking to see what controller you guys recommend for use while connected to my PC. I was thinking to buy the Mayflash USB adapter, but read in a thread previously that it commonly has problems with project64k (Don't quote me on that, just remember reading it somewhere). I wouldn't mind buying that and using it if it works well, but even then, where can I buy reliable, new N64 controllers nowadays? If the Mayflash USB converter is out of the question (or not the best option) which USB controller should I look into. I am extremely sorry if this has already been explained somewhere, but I had not noticed. Excited to join and be part of the community. So far with what I've read around here you guys seem to be very kind and cordial and that is extremely nice to find in a community.

P.S. I have Project64k Version 0.13 Core 1.4 and have used netplay before. Is there a newer/better version to use. Also do y'all have any tips on reducing latency?

Thanks!
Akhilles

Grahamaglam

Smash Journeyman
Mayflash is seen as a bad adapter because it has a delay on the c buttons(I think) but is a very cheep adapter. Raphnet just recently released an updated version of their adapter which is tied for the lowest delay and works for 64, Hori, and gamecube controllers. I would recommend the raphnet to usb adapter for online play. Don't ever use usb controllers since they have bad sticks and bad range.