• Welcome to Smashboards, the world's largest Super Smash Brothers community! Over 250,000 Smash Bros. fans from around the world have come to discuss these great games in over 19 million posts!

    You are currently viewing our boards as a visitor. Click here to sign up right now and start on your path in the Smash community!

Because I feel like it ask me anything about molding pm

mythbust4000

Smash Journeyman
Joined
Dec 8, 2014
Messages
307
Location
Puyallup washington
NNID
517039
For real anything form a noobie question to something even experienced people don't know now I don't know everything but I can answer most Qs
 

Dark-Samus-Lives

Smash Journeyman
Joined
Oct 10, 2014
Messages
288
Location
Phaaze
Molding.

Technically still works, albeit it would need an abstract interpretation.

Anyway, how do you create a charging attack with 3 levels of charge?
 

drogoth232

Smash Lord
Joined
Nov 28, 2011
Messages
1,072
Anyway, how do you create a charging attack with 3 levels of charge?
I don't trust the OP for obvious reasons, so I'm just gonna answer assuming you don't know the answer. Heck, it's good for other people too.


In the charge animation, put this:

Float Variable Clear = LA Float XX
Float Variable Set: LA Float XX =0
Set Loop X amount of times (x being the amount of frames in the charge anim)
Float Variable Increment: LA Float XX
Sync TImer 1
Execute Loop

Then in the attack animation you would determine what values you want for the three charges, so for example

If LA Float XX >= 19
Hitboxes
Else
If LA Float XX >= 10
Hitboxes
Else
Hitboxes
End If
 

Dark-Samus-Lives

Smash Journeyman
Joined
Oct 10, 2014
Messages
288
Location
Phaaze
I don't trust the OP for obvious reasons, so I'm just gonna answer assuming you don't know the answer. Heck, it's good for other people too.


In the charge animation, put this:

Float Variable Clear = LA Float XX
Float Variable Set: LA Float XX =0
Set Loop X amount of times (x being the amount of frames in the charge anim)
Float Variable Increment: LA Float XX
Sync TImer 1
Execute Loop

Then in the attack animation you would determine what values you want for the three charges, so for example

If LA Float XX >= 19
Hitboxes
Else
If LA Float XX >= 10
Hitboxes
Else
Hitboxes
End If
Just to see if I'm understanding the code correctly, is the Float Variable Increment: LA Float XX the amount of units of charge per frame for the move? I kinda get the part where the float variable is getting cleared, but not too sure on the increment portion. If you could give example numbers that work, it would probably make more sense to me...

And can this be charged? I'm guess that it would need more coding to accomplish that. But thanks for the info so far. I can finally get three levels of power for Dark Samus' side B, which will be easy to signify with subtle Graphical changes.

Ha, and of course I had my doubts but we'll never know unless mythbust4000 contributes...

Anyway, I saw this link on the Brawlvault Attack and Animations Tutorial page http://forums.kc-mm.com/index.php?topic=73959.0

Looked long as hell, hopefully your coding accomplishes the same thing albeit being more concise.
 
Last edited:

mythbust4000

Smash Journeyman
Joined
Dec 8, 2014
Messages
307
Location
Puyallup washington
NNID
517039

drogoth232

Smash Lord
Joined
Nov 28, 2011
Messages
1,072


Ha, of course I had my doubts but we'll never know unless mythbust4000 contributes...

Anyway, I saw this link on the Brawlvault Attack and Animations Tutorial page http://forums.kc-mm.com/index.php?topic=73959.0

Looked long as hell, hopefully your coding accomplishes the same thing albeit being more concise.
Might sound like flaming, but that guy... doesn't know much. Just copy pastas coding over and just breaks it down a bit (which I did too, but actually knowing how to code a real programming language helps a lot more).

He added in codes that allow you to roll out while charging and also added a damaged based super/heavy armor. He also put extra IC constants that aren't really necessary to have. Doesn't make intuitive sense.

That's also assuming that it's not a charge move like samus' charge shot or something that you want to roll out of. In that case, you'd just put the IC constant compare for Left and Right during the charge animation and have them go to the Dodge subaction depending on the way your'e facing. I can get into that later if you need me to.

Also, at the attack animation you can put a Float Variable Clear: LA Float XX, but you shouldn't need to because it's at the beginning of the charge animation. But it can never hurt to have.
 

Dark-Samus-Lives

Smash Journeyman
Joined
Oct 10, 2014
Messages
288
Location
Phaaze
Might sound like flaming, but that guy... doesn't know much. Just copy pastas coding over and just breaks it down a bit (which I did too, but actually knowing how to code a real programming language helps a lot more).

He added in codes that allow you to roll out while charging and also added a damaged based super/heavy armor. He also put extra IC constants that aren't really necessary to have. Doesn't make intuitive sense.

That's also assuming that it's not a charge move like samus' charge shot or something that you want to roll out of. In that case, you'd just put the IC constant compare for Left and Right during the charge animation and have them go to the Dodge subaction depending on the way your'e facing. I can get into that later if you need me to.

Also, at the attack animation you can put a Float Variable Clear: LA Float XX, but you shouldn't need to because it's at the beginning of the charge animation. But it can never hurt to have.
Just to see if I'm understanding the code correctly, is the Float Variable Increment: LA Float XX the amount of units of charge per frame for the move? I kinda get the part where the float variable is getting cleared, but not too sure on the increment portion. If you could give example numbers that work, it would probably make more sense to me...

And can this be charged? I'm guess that it would need more coding to accomplish that. But thanks for the info so far. I can finally get three levels of power for Dark Samus' side B, which will be easy to signify with subtle Graphical changes.
 

Dark-Samus-Lives

Smash Journeyman
Joined
Oct 10, 2014
Messages
288
Location
Phaaze
I don't trust the OP for obvious reasons, so I'm just gonna answer assuming you don't know the answer. Heck, it's good for other people too.


In the charge animation, put this:

Float Variable Clear = LA Float XX
Float Variable Set: LA Float XX =0
Set Loop X amount of times (x being the amount of frames in the charge anim)
Float Variable Increment: LA Float XX
Sync TImer 1
Execute Loop

Then in the attack animation you would determine what values you want for the three charges, so for example

If LA Float XX >= 19
Hitboxes
Else
If LA Float XX >= 10
Hitboxes
Else
Hitboxes
End If
Maybe I'm missing something but there's no Float Variable Clear Event in BB 0.68b.
 

drogoth232

Smash Lord
Joined
Nov 28, 2011
Messages
1,072
Just to see if I'm understanding the code correctly, is the Float Variable Increment: LA Float XX the amount of units of charge per frame for the move? I kinda get the part where the float variable is getting cleared, but not too sure on the increment portion. If you could give example numbers that work, it would probably make more sense to me...

And can this be charged? I'm guess that it would need more coding to accomplish that. But thanks for the info so far. I can finally get three levels of power for Dark Samus' side B, which will be easy to signify with subtle Graphical changes.
The Float Variable increment increments by a value of 1. With a Sync timer of 1, it increments it by 1 every 1 frame up until you either release the attack or it reaches full charge.

In every case where XX exists, that's values that you want the LA Float to be identified. It's like saying "alright, I have 4 blue books. I'll call one book blueberry, the other whale" etc.

As long as your'e in the charge animation, you're charging. If you want it to be similar to an actual charge attack, the idea is the same, you'd just have to have a shorter charge animation that also has the "loops" flag checked in bbox/psa. Then in the loop of the charge animation, you could put

If Bit Set: LA Float XX = Full Charge Value
Change Subaction = Attack Subaction
End If

And in this case, you'd probably want to put in the correct IC Constant codes so that control stick inputs would lead to rolling away.

You'd add another If block and it'd say something similar to this:

If Facing Right:
If Compare: IC-Basic[1010] == 1
Change Action: Rolling towards
End If
If Compare: IC-Basic[1010] == -1
Change Action: Roll away
End If
End If
If Facing Left:
If Compare: IC-Basic[1010] == 1
Change Action: Rolling towards
End If
If Compare: IC-Basic[1010] == -1
Change Action: Rolling away
End If
End If

The code will probably need some tinkering, but that's the basic gist of it
This is assuming that you're not working with actions. That's a completely different beast, but also very similar lol

Maybe I'm missing something but there's no Float Variable Clear Event in BB 0.68b.
Whoops. Then just put a Float Variable Set LA Float XX to 0
 
Last edited:

PyotrLuzhin

Smash Journeyman
Joined
Jul 1, 2014
Messages
470
Location
Altair's Lair
Does anyone (OP, you're welcome to chime in if you know the answer) know how to edit the GFX for Fox's lasers? I've looked at the .reff and I can see that there's an entry for it, but the GFX subaction of the article itself doesn't show an external gfx event.

If I have a Fox instance and a Fox clone out at the same time, I get the weird clone graphics glitch, and I'd like to fix that lol
 
Last edited:

drogoth232

Smash Lord
Joined
Nov 28, 2011
Messages
1,072
Does anyone (OP, you're welcome to chime in if you know the answer) know how to edit the GFX for Fox's lasers? I've looked at the .reff and I can see that there's an entry for it, but the GFX subaction of the article itself doesn't show an external gfx event.

If I have a Fox instance and a Fox clone out at the same time, I get the weird clone graphics glitch, and I'd like to fix that lol
Check out ModelData5, it should be EffFoxBlasterShot or something similar
 

PyotrLuzhin

Smash Journeyman
Joined
Jul 1, 2014
Messages
470
Location
Altair's Lair
Check out ModelData5, it should be EffFoxBlasterShot or something similar
I've looked there, but I'm talking about the gfx id. I want to edit whatever event actually calls the laser in PSA or hex so that there won't be two foxes out there drawing from the same effect .pac
 

drogoth232

Smash Lord
Joined
Nov 28, 2011
Messages
1,072
External Graphic Effect: File=7, Graphic ID=11, Bone=0, Translation=(10, 9, 0), Rotation=(0, 0, 0), Scale=1, Anchored=true

In the ELF section of Ef_Fox, start counting at 0 and count up to 11, that's PtcFoxBlasterShot

Change the Graphic ID value to 14, add a new entry, set UseBrres to True, set BrresID to 9, then add a new BRRES entry in the ef_Fox, set it to ModelData and put the value of 9, put in your model file and that should be about it.
 

PyotrLuzhin

Smash Journeyman
Joined
Jul 1, 2014
Messages
470
Location
Altair's Lair
External Graphic Effect: File=7, Graphic ID=11, Bone=0, Translation=(10, 9, 0), Rotation=(0, 0, 0), Scale=1, Anchored=true

In the ELF section of Ef_Fox, start counting at 0 and count up to 11, that's PtcFoxBlasterShot

Change the Graphic ID value to 14, add a new entry, set UseBrres to True, set BrresID to 9, then add a new BRRES entry in the ef_Fox, set it to ModelData and put the value of 9, put in your model file and that should be about it.
Okay, awesome... but what is the offset for that command? Alternatively, where can I find that command?

all I want to do is change the file=7 to file=145
 
Last edited:

drogoth232

Smash Lord
Joined
Nov 28, 2011
Messages
1,072
Okay, awesome... but what is the offset for that command? Alternatively, where can I find that command?

all I want to do is change the file=7 to file=145
It's in the subaction tab all the way down where the SpecialNLoop is. Just check all the SpecialN subactions (Start, Loop, and End).
 

PyotrLuzhin

Smash Journeyman
Joined
Jul 1, 2014
Messages
470
Location
Altair's Lair
It's in the subaction tab all the way down where the SpecialNLoop is. Just check all the SpecialN subactions (Start, Loop, and End).
Ahhh... I was looking in the article GFX tab the whole time... Thanks! Now fox's lasers won't become invisible after fighting his clone lol
 

Dark-Samus-Lives

Smash Journeyman
Joined
Oct 10, 2014
Messages
288
Location
Phaaze
The Float Variable increment increments by a value of 1. With a Sync timer of 1, it increments it by 1 every 1 frame up until you either release the attack or it reaches full charge.

In every case where XX exists, that's values that you want the LA Float to be identified. It's like saying "alright, I have 4 blue books. I'll call one book blueberry, the other whale" etc.

As long as your'e in the charge animation, you're charging. If you want it to be similar to an actual charge attack, the idea is the same, you'd just have to have a shorter charge animation that also has the "loops" flag checked in bbox/psa. Then in the loop of the charge animation, you could put

If Bit Set: LA Float XX = Full Charge Value
Change Subaction = Attack Subaction
End If

And in this case, you'd probably want to put in the correct IC Constant codes so that control stick inputs would lead to rolling away.

You'd add another If block and it'd say something similar to this:

If Facing Right:
If Compare: IC-Basic[1010] == 1
Change Action: Rolling towards
End If
If Compare: IC-Basic[1010] == -1
Change Action: Roll away
End If
End If
If Facing Left:
If Compare: IC-Basic[1010] == 1
Change Action: Rolling towards
End If
If Compare: IC-Basic[1010] == -1
Change Action: Rolling away
End If
End If

The code will probably need some tinkering, but that's the basic gist of it
This is assuming that you're not working with actions. That's a completely different beast, but also very similar lol



Whoops. Then just put a Float Variable Set LA Float XX to 0
I guess I should have given you more info because I am getting no where with my attempts at coding this.

There are 3 subactions to the side B, Special S Start, Special S Hold, and Special S End.

The original version was simple and all I had to do was put a Change Subaction Event in each one to move from Start-> Hold -> to End.

As of now, that start animation is 23 frames long. It is not perfectly looped, it is just Dark Samus getting into a shooting pose.
Special S START: (i have LA basic instead of Float, ayee)

Special S HOLD:
 
Last edited:

PyotrLuzhin

Smash Journeyman
Joined
Jul 1, 2014
Messages
470
Location
Altair's Lair
Nice try, but no cigar ;)
Unfortunately, the lasers are still invisible... I'm wondering if the external gfx event is stored elsewhere. ID 11 refers to the spark coming off of the blast, it seems

I think that I'm actually looking for ID 10
 
Last edited:

drogoth232

Smash Lord
Joined
Nov 28, 2011
Messages
1,072
Unfortunately, the lasers are still invisible... I'm wondering if the external gfx event is stored elsewhere. ID 11 refers to the spark coming off of the blast, it seems

I think that I'm actually looking for ID 10
ID 11 is for sure the blaster bullet itself.

Don't bother making a help topic if this is the level of help you are going to provide.
I would make my own help thread, but having two jobs is rough enough

I guess I should have given you more info because I am getting no where with my attempts at coding this.

There are 3 subactions to the side B, Special S Start, Special S Hold, and Special S End.

The original version was simple and all I had to do was put a Change Subaction Event in each one to move from Start-> Hold -> to End.

As of now, that start animation is 23 frames long. It is not perfectly looped, it is just Dark Samus getting into a shooting pose.
Special S START: (i have LA basic instead of Float, ayee)

Special S HOLD:
Okay, so what exactly do you want it to do?
I'm assuming what you'll want it to do is to have a loop that keeps going until you let go of B

Then you would set a loop that starts with an if block

Set Loop Infinite
If Button Held: (value for whatever B is, it's probably 1 or something)
Set Loop Y
Hitbox stuff
Sync Timer Z
Terminate Hitboxes
Execute Loop
If Button Released: value for B
Change Subaction: AttackEnd
End If
Sync Timer 1
Execute Loop

another option that I just thought of is:

Set Loop Infinite
If Button Held: (value for whatever B is, it's probably 1 or something)
Hitbox stuff
Sync Timer Z
Terminate Hitboxes
If Button Released: value for B
Change Subaction: AttackEnd
End If
Sync Timer 1
Execute Loop

Not sure if it'll work, but it's a good start imo
 

Dark-Samus-Lives

Smash Journeyman
Joined
Oct 10, 2014
Messages
288
Location
Phaaze
ID 11 is for sure the blaster bullet itself.



I would make my own help thread, but having two jobs is rough enough



Okay, so what exactly do you want it to do?
I'm assuming what you'll want it to do is to have a loop that keeps going until you let go of B

Then you would set a loop that starts with an if block

Set Loop Infinite
If Button Held: (value for whatever B is, it's probably 1 or something)
Set Loop Y
Hitbox stuff
Sync Timer Z
Terminate Hitboxes
Execute Loop
If Button Released: value for B
Change Subaction: AttackEnd
End If
Sync Timer 1
Execute Loop

another option that I just thought of is:

Set Loop Infinite
If Button Held: (value for whatever B is, it's probably 1 or something)
Hitbox stuff
Sync Timer Z
Terminate Hitboxes
If Button Released: value for B
Change Subaction: AttackEnd
End If
Sync Timer 1
Execute Loop

Not sure if it'll work, but it's a good start imo
Hope you didn't think I sounded unappreciative, all your advice has been excellent so far!

I guess I need to establish how exactly I want the charge to function. I like the idea of holding B a certain length of time then it's power/size being dependent on a previous charge level from a Charge animation. I was thinking something along the same lines earlier, but your coding looks like it would work. I'll try it out ASAP.

After trying to understand what your wrote a bit more, your coding would have dark samus shooting infinitely until the B button is released... which could work, but I don't think I want the move to go this route. I'd rather have a charge time for 3 levels in the attackstart animation and have the size and power of AttackHold (which is the hitbox portion of the move) dependent on the level of charge. This is what we were getting at earlier, but I couldn't get the coding to work. And when I clicked the Loop flag in BB for Attack Start, she just kept doing the animation infinitely...

EDIT: There is no If Button Held event, only press, released, pressed, and not pressed.
 
Last edited:

PyotrLuzhin

Smash Journeyman
Joined
Jul 1, 2014
Messages
470
Location
Altair's Lair
Hope you didn't think I sounded unappreciative, all your advice has been excellent so far!

I guess I need to establish how exactly I want the charge to function. I like the idea of holding B a certain length of time then it's power/size being dependent on a previous charge level from a Charge animation. I was thinking something along the same lines earlier, but your coding looks like it would work. I'll try it out ASAP.

After trying to understand what your wrote a bit more, your coding would have dark samus shooting infinitely until the B button is released... which could work, but I don't think I want the move to go this route. I'd rather have a charge time for 3 levels in the attackstart animation and have the size and power of AttackHold (which is the hitbox portion of the move) dependent on the level of charge. This is what we were getting at earlier, but I couldn't get the coding to work. And when I clicked the Loop flag in BB for Attack Start, she just kept doing the animation infinitely...

EDIT: There is no If Button Held event, only press, released, pressed, and not pressed.
correct me if I'm wrong, but I'm p. sure that button press is the "held" option
ID 11 is for sure the blaster bullet itself.
well, efls id 11 refers to brres id 6, which is EffBlasterShot. I'm having trouble with EffBlasterBullet appearing, so that suggests to me that there's something amiss going on with efls id 10, the entry linked to EffBlasterBullet. I'll try editing in a .reff entry... perhaps that will work. When I was debugging the cloned Fox .rel, I noticed that there's a switch statement that checks to see if the spawned character is Fox, Falco or Wolf, so that suggests to me that there's a "general spacie laser" function in sora_melee.rel.
 

drogoth232

Smash Lord
Joined
Nov 28, 2011
Messages
1,072
Hope you didn't think I sounded unappreciative, all your advice has been excellent so far!
Its all good.

I guess I need to establish how exactly I want the charge to function. I like the idea of holding B a certain length of time then it's power/size being dependent on a previous charge level from a Charge animation. I was thinking something along the same lines earlier, but your coding looks like it would work. I'll try it out ASAP.
Attack start isn't long enough IMO. You could aslo have it so the longer you hold b the stronger it gets. But having it be determined from the attack start probably won't work. Every character HAS to go through attack start completely (unless you're going to code it differently). Its like if charge shot depended on whether or not the wttackstart of samuss animation determined how strong the attack would be.

EDIT: There is no If Button Held event, only press, released, pressed, and not pressed.
Press it is.

correct me if I'm wrong, but I'm p. sure that button press is the "held" option

well, efls id 11 refers to brres id 6, which is EffBlasterShot. I'm having trouble with EffBlasterBullet appearing, so that suggests to me that there's something amiss going on with efls id 10, the entry linked to EffBlasterBullet. I'll try editing in a .reff entry... perhaps that will work. When I was debugging the cloned Fox .rel, I noticed that there's a switch statement that checks to see if the spawned character is Fox, Falco or Wolf, so that suggests to me that there's a "general spacie laser" function in sora_melee.rel.
I don't mess with modules and whatnot. Definitely not the person to ask.
 

drogoth232

Smash Lord
Joined
Nov 28, 2011
Messages
1,072
Well, I guess that the only other thing to do would be to see if there's a GFX event that calls efls id 10. Do you know if Fox ever does this?
External Graphic Effect calls up ELFS id 11 in the SpecialNStart. Idk about ELFS id 10.
 

Monster_

Smash Cadet
Joined
Dec 28, 2014
Messages
33
Location
Boise, Idaho
NNID
ThaM0nster
3DS FC
0189-9032-2073
How do I add custom stuff to the SSS? Things like Social Media plugs, press "x" to strike, etc.?
example:


Any help is appreciated!


EDIT: On another note, how do I add the "BANNED", "COUNTER-PICK", "STARTER" text and colors to the stage previews? Basically how do I do everything in the picture but customize-able.
 

mythbust4000

Smash Journeyman
Joined
Dec 8, 2014
Messages
307
Location
Puyallup washington
NNID
517039
How do I add custom stuff to the SSS? Things like Social Media plugs, press "x" to strike, etc.?
example:


Any help is appreciated!


EDIT: On another note, how do I add the "BANNED", "COUNTER-PICK", "STARTER" text and colors to the stage previews? Basically how do I do everything in the picture but customize-able.
ok for the social media plugs make a picture that has that stuff then open sc_selmap in brawlbox then open misc data 80 then textures then replace the custom sss icon
for sss border in the same place textures MenSelmapIcon.01 to MenSelmapIcon.60 is stage icons export them and do gimp or only this case paint relapse black with green yellow or red
then in portraits its textures MenSelmapPrevbase.01 to MenSelmapPrevbase.60 same thing but add text
 

Monster_

Smash Cadet
Joined
Dec 28, 2014
Messages
33
Location
Boise, Idaho
NNID
ThaM0nster
3DS FC
0189-9032-2073
Dope. How do I add more skins to the game without replacing a skin? I've tried cBliss but i keep getting a "too many lines of code" error in gecko. Thanks
 

shikamaru12

Smash Apprentice
Joined
Aug 21, 2010
Messages
134
How could I make a Luigi costumes have pills instead of fireballs, without any fireball effects and with the correct sounds? (Like the PM Dr Mario costumes.)
 

Dark-Samus-Lives

Smash Journeyman
Joined
Oct 10, 2014
Messages
288
Location
Phaaze
Would anyone know how to go about making this graphic effect? Watch the video:

https://youtu.be/NCCo38wR1B4?list=PL3VkBnxBZVbmNW5HOxT-bdL9VyVv69aPs&t=332

I have the actual Phazon texture in the game and I've been toying around with various sphere models in Brawl already (Ness's Down B, The Smash Ball item, Lucario's Aura Sphere, etc) but haven't been able to recreate that graphic effect. I know I should probably be using a transparent texture so you can see Dark Samus through the sphere...
 

drogoth232

Smash Lord
Joined
Nov 28, 2011
Messages
1,072
Would anyone know how to go about making this graphic effect? Watch the video:

https://youtu.be/NCCo38wR1B4?list=PL3VkBnxBZVbmNW5HOxT-bdL9VyVv69aPs&t=332

I have the actual Phazon texture in the game and I've been toying around with various sphere models in Brawl already (Ness's Down B, The Smash Ball item, Lucario's Aura Sphere, etc) but haven't been able to recreate that graphic effect. I know I should probably be using a transparent texture so you can see Dark Samus through the sphere...
Upload the texture file here pls
 

drogoth232

Smash Lord
Joined
Nov 28, 2011
Messages
1,072
If you can get all the black on the texture to be transparent, put the gfx on a random sphere and then make the sphere rotate you'll be set.
 

Dark-Samus-Lives

Smash Journeyman
Joined
Oct 10, 2014
Messages
288
Location
Phaaze
If you can get all the black on the texture to be transparent, put the gfx on a random sphere and then make the sphere rotate you'll be set.
I will try to pinpoint the black areas and make them transparent.

Do materials and shaders data affect how the final product will look? For example, using the Smash Ball sphere makes everything look very glossy and shiny. It's a cool effect but not what I'm going for.
 

drogoth232

Smash Lord
Joined
Nov 28, 2011
Messages
1,072
I will try to pinpoint the black areas and make them transparent.

Do materials and shaders data affect how the final product will look? For example, using the Smash Ball sphere makes everything look very glossy and shiny. It's a cool effect but not what I'm going for.
I don't know much about materials and shaders. Theytah is your guy for that. But yeah, you could set up a material so that all the transparent part of the texture is actually see-through.
 
Top Bottom