• Welcome to Smashboards, the world's largest Super Smash Brothers community! Over 250,000 Smash Bros. fans from around the world have come to discuss these great games in over 19 million posts!

You are currently viewing our boards as a visitor. Click here to sign up right now and start on your path in the Smash community!

What's the difference between low, mid, high and top level players

FamouslyUnknown

Smash Rookie
Hey, I'm new to smash boards. So, what exactly separates low, mid, high and top players. Or is there no exact definition.

Raijinken

Smash Master
Welcome to Smashboards!

It's kinda vauge, and depends on your area and whatnot, and also how you define it.

I identify strength within general social circles (for instance, I myself am a top level player in my own group, but probably mid-level or low-end-of-high at best on a larger scale). It's fairly easy to look at (but not necessarily to scale) it by analyzing a player's skill across various areas. How good they are at the character(s) they play. How good their technique and timing are. How much matchup and stage knowledge they have. How much knowledge they have of custom moves in those matchups. How often those skills translate into results (i.e. tournament wins). The list goes on.

Low level players, in my own opinion, are the kinds that still have basic mechanics to learn. They routinely forget or fail to use things like spot-dodging, roll/jump getups, tether recoveries, or even shield-grabbing. They go for the same narrow range of options repeatedly (think of anyone who spams Dash Attack on any character, or the Rock-Only Kirby that everyone knows), whether or not it works. They are often unsure about their own character's abilities, much less their opponents'. They ultimately lack knowledge in the game, and it reflects in narrow and repetitive strategies that generally don't work. In my group, this amounts to a guy who rarely plays Smash, and just kinda spams Rock over and over.