• Welcome to Smashboards, the world's largest Super Smash Brothers community! Over 250,000 Smash Bros. fans from around the world have come to discuss these great games in over 19 million posts!

You are currently viewing our boards as a visitor. Click here to sign up right now and start on your path in the Smash community!

What is the name of this movement technique?

Chrono Reyer

Smash Cadet

I've seen this in a few matches, and pulled this pic out of the Marth frame application thread (which was fantastic).
I would like to ask what the name of the technique he is using to grab the ledge out of a dash is, as well as if all the characters can use it.

Since I'm basically new to P:M, I learned to ledgehog by wavedashing backwards out of a full turn mid dash, as it changes the direction you face in P:M, but in melee that doesn't work so I wanted to know how to do this, as I also am interested in playing melee.

Sorry if something like this has been posted already, I just don't know the name of the tech so I can't search it! Heh. Thanks in advance for any help!

rawrimamonster

Smash Ace
PC chris edgehog/PC drop or w/e ppl wanna call it. You basically walk/run towards the ledge (w/e point you can pivot at) and use your characters traction to carry you off the ledge with momentum as you turn around. You'll get a perfectly dropped edgehog.

Last edited:

dRevan64

Smash Journeyman
^What he said, but doing it deliberately out of a run is borderline impossible as I believe is explained in that marth thread. A good way to do it for marth at least is to run, wavedash out of your run which will put you in the fastest walk, and then turn around for the edgehog.

SAUS

Smash Ace
^What he said, but doing it deliberately out of a run is borderline impossible as I believe is explained in that marth thread. A good way to do it for marth at least is to run, wavedash out of your run which will put you in the fastest walk, and then turn around for the edgehog.