• Welcome to Smashboards, the world's largest Super Smash Brothers community! Over 250,000 Smash Bros. fans from around the world have come to discuss these great games in over 19 million posts!

    You are currently viewing our boards as a visitor. Click here to sign up right now and start on your path in the Smash community!

SSBB Snapshot files. We need to crack em!

GaryCXJk

Smash Lord
Joined
Jun 2, 2006
Messages
1,809
Compression is defiantly something we need to look at for textures, etc. because as GaryCXJk stated, we could easily hit the max file size.
As I said, uncompressed the stage can't be bigger than 64 kB. This actually means that there's no use to recompressing at all, since it doesn't even matter. Stage files can only be read in an uncompressed state, so if the file is bigger in an uncompressed state, it doesn't matter if the compressed file is smaller than 64 kB.
 

Nkekev

Smash Rookie
Joined
Oct 17, 2008
Messages
6
Location
France
Hello everyone. :)

I have a little problem : I want to decrypt and encrypt a brawl stage file for modify the preview picture.

I decrypted and decompressed a stage file with Isaac356's tools. After running sb2pyml.py, I obtained two files : mystage.jpg (the preview picture I modified) and mystage.yml.


What is the next step ? I downloaded the Brawl Stage.pdf and after using yaml2sb.py, I have a .dec file with little size... (2kb...) :embarrass

I have a project with customs stages since three months but I'm blocked. :ohwell:

(Sorry for my English, I'am French... :S)
 

Isaac356

Smash Rookie
Joined
Sep 30, 2008
Messages
12
As I said, uncompressed the stage can't be bigger than 64 kB. This actually means that there's no use to recompressing at all, since it doesn't even matter. Stage files can only be read in an uncompressed state, so if the file is bigger in an uncompressed state, it doesn't matter if the compressed file is smaller than 64 kB.
Okay, I see now. You're saying that in ram, the stage can't be bigger than 64 kB, right? Gotcha.
 

GaryCXJk

Smash Lord
Joined
Jun 2, 2006
Messages
1,809
I by the way decrypted the file, and noticed the bytes at 0x2C (0x1C when removing the first 16 bytes) didn't match the actual file size (the size when compressed).

I've updated it, but haven't had time or need to check it out.

[Download]

EDIT: Never mind...
 

GaryCXJk

Smash Lord
Joined
Jun 2, 2006
Messages
1,809
Memory dumps are done by actually dumping the memory itself using WiiRd. Read the documentary.
 

Xane

Smash Journeyman
Joined
Sep 19, 2007
Messages
335
Location
Germany
NNID
XaneFeather
3DS FC
3866-8124-2065
Well, since I still don't have my Wii back, all I could do were some optimizations, which suprisingly really helped alot.

I managed to decrease the current memory usage from 100mb down to 30mb (I know, I wasn't using memory efficiently) and thus increased the overall performance and tweaked some visuals.

Besides that, I continued to work on the options and editor screens and their functionality.
Additionally, I'm now using OpenAL for further compatibility in case of porting it over to Linux.
 

GaryCXJk

Smash Lord
Joined
Jun 2, 2006
Messages
1,809
Wait, what do you need sound for?

Unless, of course, we're talking about a different OpenAL.
 

Xane

Smash Journeyman
Joined
Sep 19, 2007
Messages
335
Location
Germany
NNID
XaneFeather
3DS FC
3866-8124-2065
Yea, it's using sound.
I'm trying to mimick the Stage Builder's appearance as close as possible.
You can, of course, turn it off completely.
 

Chaofanatic

Smash Rookie
Joined
Aug 13, 2008
Messages
10
Oh man.
I cant wait til this comes out! (You thought I was goanna say bomb some dodongos didnt you?)
Once the stage editor is finished, X-TREME SPEED BUMP will finaly be a reality!
 

Girrrtacos

Smash Rookie
Joined
Mar 28, 2008
Messages
15
All standard stage files are lz77 compressed. They are open to modifying to the same extent characters are, though nothing has been done with them yet.
After being decompressed, SSBExtract doesn't extract the 001.bin.
"File size invalid! Press any key to continue . . ."
 

GaryCXJk

Smash Lord
Joined
Jun 2, 2006
Messages
1,809
Untested, but stable:

Code:
Custom Stage Texture Swap (SSBB US-NTSC, RSBE)
4A000000 90180F08
38000032 FF000035
48000000 8066174C
DE000000 80008180
58010000 00000008
DE000000 80008180
58010000 000000B0
DE000000 90009380
90010000 00000000
80000001 9016B540
82200002 9016B548
88000001 00000002
82200002 9016B54C
88000001 00000002
4A001001 00000000
DE000000 90009380
30000000 544C4430
80000003 00000000
4A100000 00000010
DE000000 90009380
60000000 00000000
90010007 00000000
92210004 00000004
86400004 0000FFFF
88000004 00000003
86400004 0000FFFF
4A001001 00000008
94210004 00000000
34000000 00000000
4A001007 00000000
92210005 00000000
88000005 00000001
92210006 00000004
88000006 00000000
4A001005 00000006
92110008 00000000
4E000000 00000000
4A100000 00000010
94110008 00000001
8A000056 00000000
4A001007 00000008
64000000 00000000
E0000000 80008000
st_fhqwhgads_ts.bin

If it doesn't work at some point due to the fact that it can't find certain entries, it just terminates before it can write anything.

All that is left to do is the Japanese version of the game.
 

Pharrox

Smash Journeyman
Joined
Jan 26, 2007
Messages
397
Location
Belleville, MI
Run the .pac through SSBextract, then extract the .bin file with lz77ex. It will give you a file with .bin.out. This is (generally) either a .pac or .brres file. You'll need to look at it in hex to find out which. If it has "bres" in the first line its .brres. If it has "ARC" in the first line (most extracted stage files do) then it is a .pac. Rename it accordingly and run it through SSBextract.
 

Chaofanatic

Smash Rookie
Joined
Aug 13, 2008
Messages
10
I wish there was some way that I could help with the development of the PC stage builder...
But I know nothing about haking...
If there is any way I can help then please let me know.
 

Girrrtacos

Smash Rookie
Joined
Mar 28, 2008
Messages
15
Ah, found out what the problem was. I was doing everything right- except I thought that after Lz77ex said "Files opened successfully" it meant it was done. Thanks guys.
 

Xane

Smash Journeyman
Joined
Sep 19, 2007
Messages
335
Location
Germany
NNID
XaneFeather
3DS FC
3866-8124-2065
Yea, it's going pretty nice.
I hope to get the first version done next month.
 

Xane

Smash Journeyman
Joined
Sep 19, 2007
Messages
335
Location
Germany
NNID
XaneFeather
3DS FC
3866-8124-2065
Well, the version I'll try to release next month will be some kind of a Beta.
It won't have all planned features yet, but I'll work on them.

Right now it's possible to save basic stages and such.. but it's still missing some GUI elements I'm working on before releasing it in public.
 

Jack Kieser

Smash Champion
Joined
Jan 11, 2008
Messages
2,961
Location
Seattle, WA
Oh, I'm waiting, too. I found a link on some random forum to Xane's site with a few screen caps: dude, it's looking sharp. Can't wait.
 

KuroBit

Smash Apprentice
Joined
Aug 3, 2008
Messages
151
Don't worry, your not the only one waiting. I keep checking back here every few days.

It's looking really professional so far o_o... Great job, and can't wait for the beta.
 

luigimario

Smash Rookie
Joined
Oct 26, 2008
Messages
5
how do you get most of the thp videos to work, I can only get the mario vs kirby, Palutena, and the one where DK and diddy K break into the bomb factory
 

Xane

Smash Journeyman
Joined
Sep 19, 2007
Messages
335
Location
Germany
NNID
XaneFeather
3DS FC
3866-8124-2065
It isn't quite ready yet.
I have a lot less time than I though..
Oh well, if I get to release it this year, it will be a bare-bone beta version.
There are many things not as much as finished as I want them to be until I release it.
On the other hand, I can constantly update things~ so..

But anyway.. here's a stage causing weird graphical glitches:
http://xane.gamez-interactive.de/Pub/Downloads/st_Test.bin
Open it up with the Stage Builder and play it through the preview function (pressing start).
Yea, it only happens using the Stage Builder.
 

Nkekev

Smash Rookie
Joined
Oct 17, 2008
Messages
6
Location
France
Need PC Stage Editor.

With all Isaac356's tools and hours trying to edit preview picture in custom stage, I still don't understand how to do this. :/
 

Phreeq

Smash Apprentice
Joined
Aug 1, 2008
Messages
77
4.5 Hours to release it Xane.

I'm just messing. And sorry for double post.
 

tyler_14_420

Smash Rookie
Joined
Jul 4, 2008
Messages
3
Location
Victoria, BC, Canada
It isn't quite ready yet.
I have a lot less time than I though..
Oh well, if I get to release it this year, it will be a bare-bone beta version.
There are many things not as much as finished as I want them to be until I release it.
On the other hand, I can constantly update things~ so..

But anyway.. here's a stage causing weird graphical glitches:
http://xane.gamez-interactive.de/Pub/Downloads/st_Test.bin
Open it up with the Stage Builder and play it through the preview function (pressing start).
Yea, it only happens using the Stage Builder.
Good luck to you Xane. You missed the New Year's Deadline so no rush now. Just get it out in a somewhat usable form. As long as it's better than the Brawl stage builder, it's worth releasing ain't it? (Or even just different...)
 

VaKe

Smash Rookie
Joined
Aug 7, 2008
Messages
11
Location
Frankfurt - Germany
i didnt read the whole thread so i dont know whether this useless,but maybe u get new ideas if u open the .bin files with a hex editor.
 

adj789

Smash Rookie
Joined
Jan 14, 2009
Messages
2
Location
Atlanta, GA
I downloaded this little app bin2jpg and I can't figure out how to get it to work
but I did find this webpage which may have been mentioned already but I was having a hard time getting these files converted
http://www.brawlsnapshots.com/
which i used to upload my signature file

I was also wondering why Nintendo encrypts them on the SD card anyway... I mean why not just make it a nice user-friendly .jpg or .png?
 

Xane

Smash Journeyman
Joined
Sep 19, 2007
Messages
335
Location
Germany
NNID
XaneFeather
3DS FC
3866-8124-2065
wow dein stage bulider sieht ja schon sehr gut aus!
Err.. yo, danke. ^^;

Hell, sorry everyone, I really failed realeasing it in 2008.
I had ALOT less time than I though I'd have, everything came in between.. but hey, if everything stays as good as today, I'll be able to release it next week.
It's already somewhat "playable" but there are some minor things left until it's worthy to be released to the public.
Many things are still left planned but I'll, for sure, keep up the work and release updates/patches over time.

And yea, I got SpawnPoints to work:


Anyway, I hope I won't disappoint you anymore longer. :/

~Xane
 
Top Bottom