• Welcome to Smashboards, the world's largest Super Smash Brothers community! Over 250,000 Smash Bros. fans from around the world have come to discuss these great games in over 19 million posts!

You are currently viewing our boards as a visitor. Click here to sign up right now and start on your path in the Smash community!

SH Discussion

brentosfreshness

Smash Cadet
NNID
brentvickers
I've been playing melee competitively since 2005. I have most tech skills down pretty well. I can wave dash, dash dance, edgeguard well, everything. But for some reason I can't get my short hop back lol. Would you prefer claw? I can do it with almost every top tier, just isn't working with sheik

Last edited:
Sheik doesn't have a short short hop

Try flicking the bottom edge of the x button with your thumbnail

Ringedge

Smash Apprentice
NNID
Ringedge
Press and let go of the button as quickly as you possibly can. Falco has one of the easiest short hops while Sheik has one of the harder ones, so I would try to get it down with Falco first. Or your controller is broken, that could also be the case if you have only used 1 controller.

Last edited:

Citricide

JuneauSmashBros Tournament Organizer
What I did was choose fox and practice short hopping with him. Fox has to release the jump button within 2 frames to short hop. It's very strict but if you can short hop with fox, then you can short hop with anybody.

Vorde

Smash Journeyman
NNID
Vorde
3DS FC
4613-7807-1976
Yeah what I do is use the edge of my thumb /fingernail is, and just slide it super quick at the bottom edge of the X button. Only way I found that works for me.

SSS

Smash Ace