• Welcome to Smashboards, the world's largest Super Smash Brothers community! Over 250,000 Smash Bros. fans from around the world have come to discuss these great games in over 19 million posts!

You are currently viewing our boards as a visitor. Click here to sign up right now and start on your path in the Smash community!

Pokemon Trainer v. Adult Link

NJel

Smash Rookie
I apologize beforehand if this is a thread elsewhere; if so, I'd like to know where that is, so that I can read up on it.

Anyways, I was practicing against my brother tonight who always plays with Link. I'm still at a loss as to what kind of strategy to fight with. I'm a very offensive person, but it's like I can't get close enough to touch him, and if I get far away I get pelted with arrows and bombs. I always get suckered into his sword swipes and such.

Like I said on another thread, I'm a newb, but this match-up is frustrating me. My Charizard is just way too slow versus him, and with Squirtle I'm all over the place. Ivysaur, so far, is my best matchup and that's only because my brother abuses the Down+B so I can usually predict when to use Bullet Seed, and the Razor Leaf is good for racking up dmg long-distance.

Am I on the right track with Ivysaur?

Thanks for any advice guys!

TheReflexWonder

Wonderful!
BRoomer
NNID
TheReflexWonder
3DS FC
2492-4449-2771
What's giving you trouble up-close? If you keep pressure on him, he can't do much, since his fastest attack is Jab, which is Frame 7 (slooooow). Squirtle can use Jab and F-Tilt with little trouble, even after landing with a F-Air or B-Air on his shield. If he keeps stuffing your moves with attacks, just shieldgrab it. If he likes doing both hits of F-Smash, shield the first one and spotdodge the second, then grab him.