• Welcome to Smashboards, the world's largest Super Smash Brothers community! Over 250,000 Smash Bros. fans from around the world have come to discuss these great games in over 19 million posts!

You are currently viewing our boards as a visitor. Click here to sign up right now and start on your path in the Smash community!

Networking Matters, NNIDs With LAN Adapter List /Google Docs (It Matters)

BiGViC340

Smash Rookie
NNID
BiGViC340
Hello ladies and gentlemen, I would like to introduce myself. I am a beginner to Smash however I am no beginner to networking. I am on the pathway to becoming a network engineer and I'm very disappointed that the Wii U's default method for getting online is through Wi-Fi. This creates what is called latency and in layman's terms it creates input lag. This is horrible for any game but especially for fighting games. Smash 4's net code is actually pretty good from my experience with good connections. Sadly most people are using Wi-Fi as they lack this knowledge, simply don't care, or they choose convenience over performance.

I hope to create a list that we can all reference with people who own a LAN adapter as it makes a huge difference, a very noticeable difference at that. I saw many threads to share codes however there is no way to verify if people are playing over wireless or wired.

To anyone who cares about their experience online, I suggest getting a LAN adapter immediately. Night and day difference for approximately $10. If your Wii U is too far from your modem/router, it is in your best interest to run an Ethernet cable to your console if you plan on playing online.