• Welcome to Smashboards, the world's largest Super Smash Brothers community! Over 250,000 Smash Bros. fans from around the world have come to discuss these great games in over 19 million posts!

You are currently viewing our boards as a visitor. Click here to sign up right now and start on your path in the Smash community!

My thoughts on Tier Lists

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dopplegamer

Smash Rookie
NNID
Dopplegamer211
3DS FC
4554-0398-0942
Hi everyone! Long time Smasher, first time poster. I finally got around to setting up a SB account today and wanted to celebrate with my first discussion.

This may have already been discussed before (remember, I'm new), but I wanted to throw my own two cents in. I firmly believe tier lists are absolutely useless for Project M....hear me out.

This summer, I started training in PM regularly with relatives and friends. I started out by only picking my mains, Diddy and Squirtle. After I while, I got bored, and just played random. For some reason, random loved to give me Zero Suit, Peach, Olimar, and Ice Climbers. So I started getting used to them, and good at them. Nowadays, I regularly cycle between over a third of the roster. All this experience has made me realize the uselessness of PM tierlists. And that is why I love PM so much. No longer are matches dominated by a Spacey, or Sheik, or Marth. Every character has a shot at kicking ass, even Olimar. If you don't believe me, here's a trick: Go to Brawl Vault (or wherever), and get a custom skin for a character you don't usually play. The right skin can make any character feel awesome (For me, I got Chibi Samus for Olimar, and my Olimar game really improved). If you don't like skins, just play Random, and then play the character you land on repeatedly.