• Welcome to Smashboards, the world's largest Super Smash Brothers community! Over 250,000 Smash Bros. fans from around the world have come to discuss these great games in over 19 million posts!

    You are currently viewing our boards as a visitor. Click here to sign up right now and start on your path in the Smash community!

Important Melee, Hacks, and You -- New Hackers Start Here, in the OP!

Tcll

Smash Lord
Joined
Jul 10, 2010
Messages
1,780
Location
The Gates of Darkness
NNID
Tcll5850
I've FINALLY figured out these dang matrixes

http://lh6.ggpht.com/_IteXPmeC6ek/TPqlbCnXYYI/AAAAAAAACKU/Z3S9PXARR7g/matrixes.jpg

what... a... pain!

EDIT:
why did I have to figure these out?

well, the inverse_bind matrixes are already included in the collada...
but the frame_matrixes (transform_matrixes) are not,
so I have to build them onto the bone
^simply taking them from BrBx and re-ordering them :D

this should fix the 140 VGroup import prob
(still need to fix 141 though) :/
^I can build templates for both collada formats (131 supports them too btw)

EDIT2:
so here's the painful task at hand:
BrBx:
(1,0,0,0)(0,-1,0,0)(0,0,-1,0)(0.28593,0.397052,0.06822699,1)

collada:
1.000000 0.000000 0.000000 0.28593
0.000000 -1.000000 0.000000 0.397052
0.000000 0.000000 -1.000000 0.06822699
0.000000 0.000000 0.000000 1.000000

^that's just simply expailing/showing

EDIT3:
maybe I should've PM'd that <:/
 

Rykard

Smash Ace
Joined
Feb 1, 2008
Messages
797
Location
Poughkeepsie, NY
does anyone think they could rehex the Professor Oak Doc over his neutral color? I want to use it but it isn't really that red lol
 

TheDekuNut

Smash Journeyman
Joined
May 27, 2010
Messages
413
Location
NJ
does anyone have the offsets for MnSlMap.usd? Steelia's package contain 88 tgas and only 1-29 have their offsets. i want to be able to change the title of each stage not just its selection picture.
and why is the echoes Samus texture in the lavender costume?wouldn't it be better for green?
 

Pi

Smash Hero
Joined
Feb 5, 2008
Messages
6,038
Location
Lake Mary, Florida
anyone know why my wii might not load a hacked melee disc while my friends wii does?

the backup launcher recognizes it, i hit y, it loads (patching w/e w/e, doesn't say failed to read) but then when the game is spose to start it says disc cannot be read check instruction booklet or w/e
 

SleepyK

Banned via Administration
Joined
Mar 26, 2006
Messages
5,871
possibly your media. the different drives on the wii are picky.
try a different speed or a different disc.
dvd+R or -r
different brands
 

smakis

Smash Ace
Joined
Jun 30, 2008
Messages
747
verbatim dvd-r all the way

and ya, the newer wiis can't read burned discs (in case you recently bought one)
 

Pi

Smash Hero
Joined
Feb 5, 2008
Messages
6,038
Location
Lake Mary, Florida
well my wii reads a different hacked melee on the same type of disc (like from the same package)
you said different speed? what do you mean, of the disc?
 

SleepyK

Banned via Administration
Joined
Mar 26, 2006
Messages
5,871
oh, a different melee on the same type of disc..

did you make any changes to the game? you might have messed up somewhere.
 

Pi

Smash Hero
Joined
Feb 5, 2008
Messages
6,038
Location
Lake Mary, Florida
i dl'd your iso and just changed some music files
it works fine on dolphin
and it works on my friends wii, freezes some times though, but most do on his wii

it's on the same type of disc as another hacked melee which does work on my wii
 

Tcll

Smash Lord
Joined
Jul 10, 2010
Messages
1,780
Location
The Gates of Darkness
NNID
Tcll5850
Tcll, any progress on Pachi?
*sigh*

afriad not... -_-
havn't been able to figure out the UV data error with 141...
I'm tired of editing and editing and editing the files

I've had enough pain...
and it's still the exact same...

if I send the mdl0, does anyone else wanna try what they can to get an import??
please send me a blend file if you get it perfectly ;_;

*sigh*
just all the more reason I should get back to my converter

EDIT:
hey revel...

what does this part of your code do??
I mean, how does it work??
Code:
if (0 != fileHeader.dataBlockSize0x04 && 0 < fileHeader.relocationTableCount0x08)
 {
  FSeek(0x20 + fileHeader.dataBlockSize0x04);
  SetBackColor(cLtGreen);
  uint32 relocationTable[fileHeader.relocationTableCount0x08] <format = hex>;
 
  local uint32 offsetNum = 0;
 
  filePos = FTell();
 
  FSeek(0x20 + fileHeader.dataBlockSize0x04);
  SetBackColor(cLtRed);
  struct
  {
   for (offsetNum = 0; offsetNum < fileHeader.relocationTableCount0x08; ++offsetNum)
   {
    FSeek(0x20 + relocationTable[offsetNum]);
    uint32 mappedOffsets <format = hex>;
   }
   FSeek(filePos);
  } relocatedOffsets;
 
  FSeek(0x20 + fileHeader.dataBlockSize0x04);
  SetBackColor(cLtBlue);
  struct
  {
   for (offsetNum = 0; offsetNum < fileHeader.relocationTableCount0x08; ++offsetNum)
   {
    //FSeek(0x20 + ReadUInt(0x20 + relocationTable[offsetNum]));
    FSeek(0x20 + relocatedOffsets.mappedOffsets[offsetNum]);
    uint16 mappedData <format = hex>;
   }
   FSeek(filePos);
  } relocatedData;
 }
IDK how exactly to implement this into my template :/
(I'll find out once I fully know how this works)
 

Steelia

Smash Champion
Joined
Sep 23, 2007
Messages
2,523
Location
Home.
Well... SD Media Launcher works, anyway. On GCN, as far as I've seen.
So if you want to pay some cash for an original copy of Melee, SD Media Launcher, a 2GB SD Card, and a Gamecube (or you have a few of those things laying around), by all means you can try it out... You have to swap the SD Media Launcher memory card from Slot A to Slot B after activating SD-Boot every time you restart, but hey, beats waiting 15 minutes for a burned disc you'll never use again. :D
 

revel8n

Smash Cadet
Joined
Dec 1, 2009
Messages
51
@Tcll:
The first part of that section simply covers the relocation table offsets.

The rest of that section of the template was simply a debugging aid mostly.

Where the next part points to all the offset locations referenced by the relocation table, followed by referencing all the locations referenced by those offsets.

So simply the relocation table, which is a list of offset to all the other offsets in the data section. Then a list of all the offsets pointed to by the relocation table. Then a list of all the structure start locations pointed to by those offsets.

Hope that makes sense, heh.


Currently testing increasing various areas int he file and what it takes to modify the rest of the file accordingly. If files still load once this is done, should be helpful i suppose.
 

GameWatching

Smash Ace
Joined
Apr 6, 2010
Messages
839
Location
Tunisia
i did something (sorta PSA)


no blast, but it's worthless :/

...

peoples are making awesomeness, and i m making crappyness...
that does not make sense...
 

Tcll

Smash Lord
Joined
Jul 10, 2010
Messages
1,780
Location
The Gates of Darkness
NNID
Tcll5850
@Tcll:
The first part of that section simply covers the relocation table offsets.

The rest of that section of the template was simply a debugging aid mostly.

Where the next part points to all the offset locations referenced by the relocation table, followed by referencing all the locations referenced by those offsets.

So simply the relocation table, which is a list of offset to all the other offsets in the data section. Then a list of all the offsets pointed to by the relocation table. Then a list of all the structure start locations pointed to by those offsets.

Hope that makes sense, heh.


Currently testing increasing various areas int he file and what it takes to modify the rest of the file accordingly. If files still load once this is done, should be helpful i suppose.

I kinda ment for you to comment your code...

IDK how to use for loops or how they're used <:/

every time I try to use one, I can never get it working...
 

Rykard

Smash Ace
Joined
Feb 1, 2008
Messages
797
Location
Poughkeepsie, NY
does anyone who makes music hacks using Audacity or any other free program like that want to make a tutorial on how to use those programs for them? I remember trying but failing because i couldn't get the file to save as the 32000hz that it needs to be or whatever the number is. I was using the trial version of sony sound forge for a while but that expired so i was bummed
 

RuKeN

Smash Journeyman
Joined
Jan 15, 2010
Messages
215
Location
Spain
tcll how go your parachisu?

when finish, can make for me a model of Sonic(SSBB) for PlFxLa?

i will make the texture :D
 

Rykard

Smash Ace
Joined
Feb 1, 2008
Messages
797
Location
Poughkeepsie, NY
i downloaded audacity here http://audacity.sourceforge.net/ it didn't expire for me. I would say use audacity for editing and then use wavasaur for preparing it to convert to hps. Wavasaur makes it easy to convert to 32000hz.
alright i will give that a shot when i don't have 2 papers to write lol. Stupid end of semester homework. and i was talking about sony sound forge expiring cause it was just a trial version.

If i have any problems i hope to come to you :)
 

Tcll

Smash Lord
Joined
Jul 10, 2010
Messages
1,780
Location
The Gates of Darkness
NNID
Tcll5850
tcll how go your parachisu?

when finish, can make for me a model of Sonic(SSBB) for PlFxLa?

i will make the texture :D
I kinda gave up for a moment on it...

with what it's doing,
it's either the vgroups or uv's that mess up

as for sonic, he's the glitchiest char to do anything with besides texture DX
 

nube

Smash Apprentice
Joined
Jun 20, 2010
Messages
166
Sorry everyone for taking so long with the altered colour stuff. You know how it is with school. Hopefully by the weekend I'll finish writing and post my little colour-change guide thing.
 

SleepyK

Banned via Administration
Joined
Mar 26, 2006
Messages
5,871
this has been covered several times. you need to buy an SD media card launcher. only $20 from datel.

steelia recently put up a vid with him ISO loading from his SD card on the GC
 

Ripple

ᗣᗣᗣᗣ ᗧ·····•·····
Joined
Sep 4, 2006
Messages
9,632
is it possible to add invincibility frames to moves?

what about giving characters more aerial momentum or changing jump speed?
 

Zyx

Smash Journeyman
Joined
May 16, 2006
Messages
257
Location
France
is it possible to add invincibility frames to moves?

what about giving characters more aerial momentum or changing jump speed?
Why ?
Melee is awesome. We don't need to modify it !
(that's the difference with Brawl...)
 

Zyx

Smash Journeyman
Joined
May 16, 2006
Messages
257
Location
France
I prefer to focus on new textures/stages/character's models for the moment... Even if a "broken" Melee (DBZ style ?) could be fun. After.
 

Rykard

Smash Ace
Joined
Feb 1, 2008
Messages
797
Location
Poughkeepsie, NY
i figured he was just curious on if those kinds of things were being discovered at the moment. It make sense to figure out all the capabilities you have when you are hacking a game so even if those things are never put into place or are just for lulz, it would still be something to learn how to do
 

Tcll

Smash Lord
Joined
Jul 10, 2010
Messages
1,780
Location
The Gates of Darkness
NNID
Tcll5850

RuKeN

Smash Journeyman
Joined
Jan 15, 2010
Messages
215
Location
Spain
My idea of one diferent melee is, erase the bottom tier chars and put new chars(Meta Knight, Diddy Kong, King Dedede,Sonic(edited the psa with new psa), Wario and Snake)

This really cool ^^(i don't like the intents of make new charactor of other games Cloud Strife o Zero)
 

Tcll

Smash Lord
Joined
Jul 10, 2010
Messages
1,780
Location
The Gates of Darkness
NNID
Tcll5850
My idea of one diferent melee is, erase the bottom tier chars and put new chars(Meta Knight, Diddy Kong, King Dedede,Sonic(edited the psa with new psa), Wario and Snake)

This really cool ^^(i don't like the intents of make new charactor of other games Cloud Strife o Zero)
umm... *raises crooked finger* I PWN with the lowest tier =.=
*cough* Pichu *cough cough*
 

Diesel

Smash Journeyman
Joined
Jan 25, 2009
Messages
241
Location
Bad-Haircut Town
Yo, my hacked ISO keeps freezing. I'll choose a stage and it says loading and just stays on that screen. I tried two ISOs written with different speeds (one 8x and the other 2x), but the problem exists with both.

The odd thing is sometimes it'll work when I use Green Ranger Falcon. But that's the only one it has worked with.

Any help?
 
Top Bottom