• Welcome to Smashboards, the world's largest Super Smash Brothers community! Over 250,000 Smash Bros. fans from around the world have come to discuss these great games in over 19 million posts!

You are currently viewing our boards as a visitor. Click here to sign up right now and start on your path in the Smash community!

Last-Minute Help for Tournament

IceIsNice

Smash Rookie
Hi, I'm new to SmashBoards. First, I would like to inform you that I have the original smash, and I do awesome with Samus. I don't get the chance to play melee that often either, but when I do, I'm practically unbeatable. Anways, this is what I need help with.

I have been looking around and I'm hearing that Samus is a bad choice for the tournament. Moreover, I don't know any of these combos that you are all talking about, so I'm pretty much going to have to wing it. To make matters even worse, I have absolutely no experience with Brawl, as I didn't order from Japan. I was wondering if some people here could give me some tips (that I would understand) about using Samus for the tournament. Thank you.

tempestknight

Smash Rookie
Well the one good thing about no Brawl experience is that you're probably not gonna be alone. As for why Samus can be a bad choice, it's that there's a very short time limit on the matches at the Gamestop tournaments (1 minute I think?). So while Brawl Samus can do a lot of damage and combo very well, she lacks easily preformed killing moves. Meaning that you're gonna have to get lucky with a throw, charge shot, or one of her other killing moves to make it anywhere. I'm probably using either Samus or Zamus, but really, it's Gamestop. Don't worry about how far you're going to go or what tactics you're going to use. Just enjoy playing Brawl for the first time.

FuLLBLeeD

Smash Journeyman