• Welcome to Smashboards, the world's largest Super Smash Brothers community! Over 250,000 Smash Bros. fans from around the world have come to discuss these great games in over 19 million posts!

You are currently viewing our boards as a visitor. Click here to sign up right now and start on your path in the Smash community!

What can I practice as a snake player? Alone and against humans

KACHOW!!!

Smash Journeyman
NNID
T.M.Paunch
3DS FC
2122-6416-3741
I'm trying to get better with snake, and obviously playing challenging skilled humans is the ideal way of doing that, but could anyone give me a 2 part list of some technical things I can practice alone and against humans? I know I need to practice the DACUS, pull grenade, wavedash into grenade, then throw it. I'm ok with c4 recovery (I can do it consistently, but I'm not a pro, probably have room for improvement). I'm ok at/already know to practice basic tech that works across characters (waveland, wavedash). I'm ok at sticking people, but I don't know any good setups except tranq. Sometimes I can do it when I read their arial movement, but I don't know any setups that lead into stick.

cisyphus

Smash Ace
Wavedashing and movement are super important as Snake. He doesn't have a long dashdance or quick wavedash, but microspacing things using what movement options he does have becomes critical. Moving around platforms especially is really important, since a lot of snake's options revolve around juggling, but his slow and strong moves force him to find ways of circumventing the difficult juggles, i.e. platforms.

Other tech that I think is essential overall and is useful regardless of character:
- Advanced Specials Movements (Turnarounds, B-Reverses, Wavebounces)