• Welcome to Smashboards, the world's largest Super Smash Brothers community! Over 250,000 Smash Bros. fans from around the world have come to discuss these great games in over 19 million posts!

You are currently viewing our boards as a visitor. Click here to sign up right now and start on your path in the Smash community!

Mastering and uses for a few basic principles

Trig417

Smash Rookie
Hi everyone, new to the smash boards.

I've been playing super smash brothers melee for 5 months now (i played alot before but never thought about taking off items :laugh: ). I've been playing with a few of my friends the past few months who are extremley good. All 6 are extremely talented, 4 can wavedash extremely well, and all can (l-cancel?).

I'm having a few problems playing a few of them.

First off as a little background, i'm a total video game junkie. Been playing them since I was 1, my older brother (6 years older) has dominated me at video games my whole life :laugh: but I always get to play someone better, making me better, so I view it as a plus. I'm very good at observing my enemy, and learning what it is they're doing to beat me.

With Smash i'm having some problems though.

First is a problem with Marth. I have become very proficient at wavedashing, and can do it back and forth fairly well. I can dash in, and out, making him swing and scaring him, but he always seems to get me eventually. I actually do stand a chance on final destination (The plain flat level) but on the levels with platforms (the plain one with just 3 little platforms) I get owned by his sword. He just hits me up and destroys me while i'm on the platform, and can't do anything about it.