• Welcome to Smashboards, the world's largest Super Smash Brothers community! Over 250,000 Smash Bros. fans from around the world have come to discuss these great games in over 19 million posts!

You are currently viewing our boards as a visitor. Click here to sign up right now and start on your path in the Smash community!

A few questions about Luigi, L-Cancelling, etc.

TheRumster

Smash Rookie
So I play Luigi (like everyone here on this board) and have a few questions about his moves.

First of all, in the videos I see no one EVER uses his down B (fist tornado). Why is that? Whenever I play as luigi, especially vs. sheik, I use it often to disrupt the aerial combos that you can get trapped in.

The more I read, the more I watch, I realize that tournament level play and "lower level" play is really different. I'm no pro, but I have a few questions about Luigi's moves.

When using > or < B to recover onto a stage, there seems to be a ton of lag time for Luigi to get up. I know you can use L-Cancelling for aerials - can you use it for B moves as well? Whenever I blast back onto the stage, it takes me forever to get up and I usually get smashed again. It's the best to get to the edge, but unfortunately you can't always get there, you know?

Also, wavedashing. You need to practice to the point where you use wavedashing for movement, instead of running, right? Since you cant dodge attacks with it, and you can get attacked while doing it, I can't really see much use for it (save wavelanding, and as an alternative to running). I do use it for wavelanding, and for dashing to platforms, but thats about it right now.