1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Welcome to Smashboards, the world's largest Super Smash Brothers community! Over 250,000 Smash Bros. fans from around the world have come to discuss these great games in over 19 million posts!

You are currently viewing our boards as a visitor. Click here to sign up right now and start on your path in the Smash community!

3. Use the Smashboards Store to get awesome Smash stuff and support the site, like a Nintendo Controller or the Wii U - Gamecube adaptor ! Check out the inventory in our store and support Smashboards with your purchase today!

What techniques should a new competitive player learn before they decide to enter tournaments??

Discussion in 'Competitive Discussion' started by jcn_3, Dec 7, 2017.

1. jcn_3

jcn_3
    Expand Collapse
    Smash Cadet

Evening everyone, I just started playing smash on a competitive level and I want to make sure I am honing the appropriate techniques. With so many techniques and information out there, it's hard to decide what's useful in competitive play and what's not wasting your time. Any recommendations on a list of various absolutely necessary techniques I should practice and master before taking competitive play seriously?

#1 jcn_3, Dec 7, 2017
    Last edited: Dec 7, 2017
  2. origamiscienceguy

origamiscienceguy
    Expand Collapse
    Smash Apprentice

It is character dependent. I see that you main Captain Falcon, so I would suggest you learn Extended Dash Dancing (Tutorial:https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=azRrqKUJ-5o) It is a powerful tool for a character as fast as Falcon.

3. jcn_3

jcn_3
    Expand Collapse
    Smash Cadet

Much appreciated and any shielding techniques I should practice? ?

4. origamiscienceguy

origamiscienceguy
    Expand Collapse
    Smash Apprentice

As long as you know how to dash-shield, there is nothing crazy important to know about shielding.

5. FamilyTeam

FamilyTeam