• Welcome to Smashboards, the world's largest Super Smash Brothers community! Over 250,000 Smash Bros. fans from around the world have come to discuss these great games in over 19 million posts!

You are currently viewing our boards as a visitor. Click here to sign up right now and start on your path in the Smash community!

Ways of practicing Wobbling?

chriszeo

Smash Rookie
I've been trying to practice wobbling so that my friends will hate me, but I just can't get it down. I'm a musician, so I'm pretty confident I've got the timing down, it's just a matter of technique I guess? I found that going into training mode and seeing when the combo counter stays at 1 tends to be when I'm wobbling correctly, but I'm not sure how to translate that into a real match. Any advice?

KEYLIME SSB

Smash Journeyman
I've been trying to practice wobbling so that my friends will hate me, but I just can't get it down. I'm a musician, so I'm pretty confident I've got the timing down, it's just a matter of technique I guess? I found that going into training mode and seeing when the combo counter stays at 1 tends to be when I'm wobbling correctly, but I'm not sure how to translate that into a real match. Any advice?
Shield Grabbing and jump cancel grabs are usually good places to start a wobble. Just don’t forget the desync and that Ftilt and Dtilt both work.

Last edited:

CkBk

Smash Rookie
Wobbling is a three part process, starting the wobble, maintaining the wobble, and ending the wobble.

for starting the wobble you can learn the regular way, or jump ahead a little and learn Tomber wobbling, it's a technique for getting TAS or near-TAS wobble starts.

for a regular wobble start, just grab, press A once so that popo pummels and nana jabs, then quickly move the stick to the tilt zone and press A again for a nana Ftilt. after that you'd transition to the 200BPM.