• Welcome to Smashboards, the world's largest Super Smash Brothers community! Over 250,000 Smash Bros. fans from around the world have come to discuss these great games in over 19 million posts!

You are currently viewing our boards as a visitor. Click here to sign up right now and start on your path in the Smash community!

Vs Kirby

User52

Smash Cadet
NNID
User52
I just started playing Mewtwo a lot again after dropping him with 3.5, and my brother picked up Kirby. Now I've seen a lot of people saying Mewtwo wins the matchup by a lot, but I can't figure it out. Kirby beats tons of Mewtwo's stuff by crouching, like Shadow Ball, Grab, CCing D-Tilt, etc. On top of that, it's not a free edge guard. What am I missing? Maybe Float Canceled aerials? I can't figure it out and it's frustrating that every attack just misses.

X Riptide X

Smash Cadet
Well, Hover canceled tail attacks have much more range, and range/disjoint is a huge advantage you have over Kirby. HC u-air can't be dodged by crouching, is relatively fast, and has a good hitbox, so that's a decent move for the Kirby MU. Also, since Kirby is super floaty, IF you manage to land a grab, up throw will send the pink blob blasting off again. I don't really know much about this matchup, so I'd like to see what others think.

As for the mechanics of hover canceling, there's different ways of doing it. The most prevalent method is to set left bumper as jump, then practice hover canceling by holding down on your control stick and the left bumper, inputting an attack, and canceling the attack by hovering into the ground.

D e l t a

That one guy who does the thing with a camera.