• Welcome to Smashboards, the world's largest Super Smash Brothers community! Over 250,000 Smash Bros. fans from around the world have come to discuss these great games in over 19 million posts!

You are currently viewing our boards as a visitor. Click here to sign up right now and start on your path in the Smash community!

Thoughts on EVO 2017

KirinKQP

Smash Journeyman
How did you feel about this year's events? Upset, happy, not surprised by a match's outcome?

Personally, it felt short and the grand finals was not very hype. Not to mention the issues with Hbox and coaching in top 8.

Last edited:

Dolla Pills

Smash Ace
It's my first time trying to watch Evo when having a 9-5 summer job on the east coast, so actually I was asleep for most of it lol

Ty Gillis

Smash Rookie
For melee, the chat was pure hatred aimed at everybody... Instead of being happy for mang0, people would bombard hbox and his fans for being "lame" and cheaters. Instead of popping off for Armada, people would rub his victory in mang0 fanboys' faces. The chat really kinda ruined the experience for me personally.

ScythZ

Smash Rookie
It was my First EVO after really playing the game and following the melee community (started following the community around 8 months ago, but started playing around a month ago) so I really enjoyed it. That said I don't think that EVO really treated Melee very nice with the Grand Finials not being on the big stage, or it being of the shoddy HBox coaching call. Either way i'm happy for (A)rmada for winning his second evo as I think he is easily the strongest player at the moment!

Here Rests A Cemetery

Banned via Administration
What happened to SFAT was just pure grime. He didn't even have any control of the situation, and G$ didn't even really coach, he was just being silly.

-ACE-

Gotem City Vigilante