• Welcome to Smashboards, the world's largest Super Smash Brothers community! Over 250,000 Smash Bros. fans from around the world have come to discuss these great games in over 19 million posts!

You are currently viewing our boards as a visitor. Click here to sign up right now and start on your path in the Smash community!

The Short-Hop Triple Laser (SHTL) Thread

Shinymonkey8

Smash Cadet
First of all, I believe camping is an incredibly important part of Fox's game. That little bit of extra damage is sometimes vitally important, and can be the deciding factor of whether you'll get the kill. I always wince whenever I see Foxes who don't or rarely laser.

I don't want to call this a guide yet, since I'm no pro at the SHTL, but I'd like to share how I learned it and my thoughts on it in general. Any Fox pros who want to share valuable information, please post any tips/whatever you know here. If I get enough info, I'll organize it into a guide. I haven't seen an in-depth guide of SHTL anywhere, just a few paragraphs of how to do it for some people, so hopefully this will help the community.

So I was trying to figure out why I kept losing as Fox. I started asking for advice, and I would consistently get, "Camp more," "More lazors," stuff like that. I remember convincing myself that I'll learn it without practicing, and then doing nothing about it.

I started watching more top Fox videos, and noticed that they could SHTL effortlessly and almost never get punished for it. I had tried it a few times (without changing any buttons on the controller), and realized that it was unbelievably difficult and gave up. A few weeks go by again, and I keep getting the same advice. Finally I take it in to practice. Here's where I go into detail on the learning process:

Beginning

I change the 'X' to special so I could move between Jump and Special easily. SHTL is still incredibly difficult to do consistently.