• Welcome to Smashboards, the world's largest Super Smash Brothers community! Over 250,000 Smash Bros. fans from around the world have come to discuss these great games in over 19 million posts!

You are currently viewing our boards as a visitor. Click here to sign up right now and start on your path in the Smash community!

The Neutral

Taytertot

Smash Ace
Roy's neutral game is an incredibly essential part of being successful with the character and so i feel that maybe making a thread to discuss roy's neutral and any nuances others have found may greatly improve those new to our boy, as well as hopefully, coming up with new strategies for more experienced roy players.

I know that i am far from being great at this game and as such I dont intend for this thread to sound like it's suggesting that I am an expert at roy, but ive been putting in a lot of lab work with roy and his neutral game is an aspect that id love to delve deeper into and help others who are learning if I can.

Now im sure that a lot of roy's neutral goes without saying, I'll go as far as to assume that most players know that DD is more or less the foundation of all of roy's great neutral game options, but im sure many people still struggle to find what causes dashing to be more useful vs wavedash in neutral situations. Knowing when to use walking and standing for tilts in neutral vs when its more important to be moving around quickly. What options you have available depending on how you choose to approach neutral. What can be thrown out safely in neutral vs what gets punished (including which matchups drastically change what's safe in neutral). How to cover different neutral options.

I know im far from perfecting any neutral skills as there is so much to consider, but id like this thread to be a place where questions specifically about neutral can be covered in depth as well as a place to discuss theories, ideas or nuances concerning roy's neutral.