• Welcome to Smashboards, the world's largest Super Smash Brothers community! Over 250,000 Smash Bros. fans from around the world have come to discuss these great games in over 19 million posts!

You are currently viewing our boards as a visitor. Click here to sign up right now and start on your path in the Smash community!

Need help with mixups

Papasmurf645

Smash Rookie
so after a couple years only playing smash with friends I've developed really bad habits. Always doing the same move, always being predictable, always dash attacking. I wanna get into the competitive scene in melee here in bama with my sheik but I need to break these habits. Any tips for me? Since I'm still a newbie with this game all I do for practice is play a lvl 1 fox over and over just to practice my options with sheik and get sharper with them. So if anyone can give me advice that would be great on breaking my habits. Maybe when I practice against fox don't use any dash attacks or the same move?

P.Kay

Smash Apprentice
NNID
plenty.kay
3DS FC
3153-8243-0352
I'm not that great at Smash but I can give you a few tips. I main Dedede so the playstyle is a bit different but that's okay.

I don't know much about Shiek either...

Firstly for practice, play against level 7 CPUs on random (you can 1v1 as well), this will help when playing against tougher opponents and different characters you may encounter. Secondly, don't dash attack as much, you shouldn't have to do it very often (for Dedede, the only good time to dash is for a kill since he doesn't have any good kill moves), to compensate, try and teach yourself some good aerial combos. Instead of using the same move over and over (which makes you predictable), use a variety of different moves and combos (which you can find plenty online, maybe watch some tournament matches!).

For example, you could perform some ground attacks, use a grab attack that launches your opponent in the air and then use an aerial of some sort, it's worked for me.