• Welcome to Smashboards, the world's largest Super Smash Brothers community! Over 250,000 Smash Bros. fans from around the world have come to discuss these great games in over 19 million posts!

You are currently viewing our boards as a visitor. Click here to sign up right now and start on your path in the Smash community!

My Main problem

GingerJack

Smash Rookie
Switch FC
SW-3242-9407-2813
So I used to be a Mario main. I dropped him for Falco. I'm not good with Falco. Do I go back to Mario or stay with Falco and get better? Also what is your reasoning.

- GingerJack
Competitive Smash Player

Sour Supreme

サイマグネット
Er... Mario is a better character at the moment. Falco has a promising kit that's hindered by several technical oversights (Whiffing grabs or the second hitbox of Up-Smash come to mind). If you're looking to get into competitive and be ready as soon as possible, revert back to Plumber Boy and perfect your ladder combos. If you play for fun, stay with the character you are having the most fun with, you'll quickly learn to capitalize on even a poorly built moveset and pull off some swag.

Predatoria

Smash Journeyman
Switch FC
SW-5219-6817-7975
Why did you drop :ultmario: in exchange for :ultfalco:?

I think that is the most important point here. I have seen people try to pick up characters that are higher tier or more competitive than their current main, only to stop having fun. Ironically, once they stop having fun, they play less, train less, and end up worse overall (be it competitive of casual play) than they were with their previous, lower tier or less viable main.

GingerJack

Smash Rookie
Switch FC
SW-3242-9407-2813
Why did you drop :ultmario: in exchange for :ultfalco:?