• Welcome to Smashboards, the world's largest Super Smash Brothers community! Over 250,000 Smash Bros. fans from around the world have come to discuss these great games in over 19 million posts!

You are currently viewing our boards as a visitor. Click here to sign up right now and start on your path in the Smash community!

Marth vs falco/spacies advice

Fitzrightin

Smash Rookie
So i'm a relatively new marth player who is seriously struggling with the falco and fox matchup, especially falco

What are some tips?

Best way to practice the powershield?

How to deal with lasers?

How to deal with pressure?

Anything helps

-Fitz

Last edited:

CarrierPig

Smash Rookie
I have problems with the falco matchup too so I'm no expert but here's some tips.

You can practice powershielding laser in 20xx in version 3.something I forget the exact number - not the most recent one. Probably just youtube that to find specifics.

There's multiple ways to deal with lasers but imo it's still pretty difficult and a very tight timing. There's an SSBMT vid going over 5 ways to beat laser besides powershielding and a recent one specifically going over take laser --> action which can be quite good. Personally, I get most use out of wave dashing back but I still get rekt by most good falcos so dunno how much that means.

I think in general the way to win the matchup is to punish very brutally. Whenever you get an opening/grab, they should be dead pretty much, or close. Practice your gimp setups ie down throw -> dtilt, dthrow -> drop zone fair.

In neutral I see some Marths like PewPewU use a good amount of approaching nair even though that's generally supposed to be bad. I'm not sure why exactly but I think it's better in this matchup. Also, you can call out lasers if you're close enough with dash attack, especially if they're lasering high.