• Welcome to Smashboards, the world's largest Super Smash Brothers community! Over 250,000 Smash Bros. fans from around the world have come to discuss these great games in over 19 million posts!

You are currently viewing our boards as a visitor. Click here to sign up right now and start on your path in the Smash community!

Marth Matchup thread.

CyberZixx

Smash Lord
Marth is very similar to his melee self so to Marth players the thing to learn in this game is how to deal with all the new match ups. It is where i'm having trouble.

For instance I would like to know what to do versus Mario. That dude is messing me up. Can't get a solid handle on it.

Amazerommu

Smash Lord
I'm a professional at dealing with Mario now after many annoying super angering matches. (Cape pisses me off so much because it's so easy to hit Marth with it). The way I deal with Mario mostly is playing the waiting game. Let them make the first move. When I'm playing with fireball spammers, I generally swat them away with a neutral attack, F-tilt or U-tilt depending on where the Mario opponent is trying to come in. F-tilt if theyr'e approaching directly and U-tilt if they're trying to approach from above really. If you time it right Marth's sword dwill go right through the fireball and hit Mario's b**ch a**. To try to counter the cape, I usually mix up my recovery, either delaying it for quite a bit, or immediately recovering to the stage, I try to keep it unpredictable. That cape is the most infuriating thing to me. There are a few videos on my youtube channel of me playing CPU Marios which I used to have just as much trouble with as human Mario opponents. Most Mario's use that frickin stupidly overly long lasting sliding dash attack a lot.. I usually counter that with a short hop N-air or F-air. Ummm... other than that I can't think of anything else. If you get a good hit combo the crap out of him and knock him off stage. I haven't gotten the timing down on spiking him out of his Up-B yet bec