• Welcome to Smashboards, the world's largest Super Smash Brothers community! Over 250,000 Smash Bros. fans from around the world have come to discuss these great games in over 19 million posts!

You are currently viewing our boards as a visitor. Click here to sign up right now and start on your path in the Smash community!

Is shining essential for Wolf?

Mage.

Smash Cadet
I'm new to Wolf and i'm absolutely loving the character as a whole. That said, my question is in regards to his shine. I know for Fox/Falco their shine is very important but is it also necessary for Wolf to use shine? Meaning, is it absolutely vital/important to learn wave shining or shine pressure on wolf, or can I just use it here and there to continue combos or edguegaurding? If anyone could also point out the differences between his shine and fox/falco's that would also help a bunch!

TheCandyman

Smash Apprentice
3DS FC
3866-8591-8094
Short answer: abso-****ing-lutely

Wolf's shine is different in the angle it sends. It's very much the half way point between fox and falco's and kinda send at a 45 degree angle. His shine is incredibly vital towards his combo game because without it he couldn't combo practically every character in the game. It can be used for Shine-bairs for some kills and at varying percents on the character sets up perfectly for a Flash kill (side-b) Of course there are other flash set ups (B-throw, Dair, fair and u-air depending on DI) but it is absolutely vital to learn that.

redcometchar

Smash Journeyman
Also you can crouch cancel wolfs shine if you didn't already know. Shine is easily his best move. Whenever you can hit someone with an aerial you should probably shine and double jump into it instead. Also shine is one of wolfs best approach tools, its also probably his best defensive move. And finally if it weren't for shine a lot of follow ups wouldn't be possible.