• Welcome to Smashboards, the world's largest Super Smash Brothers community! Over 250,000 Smash Bros. fans from around the world have come to discuss these great games in over 19 million posts!

You are currently viewing our boards as a visitor. Click here to sign up right now and start on your path in the Smash community!

Ike vs. Projectile Spam! Wat do?

CFL_Outsider

Smash Rookie
Hey guys, I'm relatively new to the competitive scene and, as a noob in every fighting game does, I'm having trouble with projectiles. I cannot deal with being trapped in my shield just taking whatever they're shooting/throwing to the face.Flustered because I don't know what options I have. In particular I'd like to know what I can do against Samus.

In the two PM tournaments I've entered I lost to the same Samus. He was no slouch of a player and the difference in skill was obvious, but in the end I lost to the missiles. I just couldn't close the distance.

Is there anything I can do besides shielding the missiles and slowly closing the distance?
In a matchup against any zoney character, what can I do to make my approaches less predictable?
What can Ike do to punish players that're neutralizing QD with projectiles?

Commander

Smash Ace
Nair through the shields. You can break a missile and hit Samus in the same nair if you are close enough.

Do a bunch of different approaches and try to minimize your habits.

Close the distance with powershields>wavedash and nair through projectiles.

CFL_Outsider

Smash Rookie
Nair through the shields. You can break a missile and hit Samus in the same nair if you are close enough.

Do a bunch of different approaches and try to minimize your habits.

Close the distance with powershields>wavedash and nair through projectiles.
Thanks! Are there only certain projectiles Ike can nair through or is there a list of that somewhere?

Commander

Smash Ace