• Welcome to Smashboards, the world's largest Super Smash Brothers community! Over 250,000 Smash Bros. fans from around the world have come to discuss these great games in over 19 million posts!

You are currently viewing our boards as a visitor. Click here to sign up right now and start on your path in the Smash community!

How to punish Marth aerial wall/approach?

Xenoraven

Smash Rookie
Falco noob here. I'm having a lot of trouble against Marths. Whenever they fair or nair towards me, I always find myself at a disadvantage. If I laser or throw out my own aerial, they usually stuff me. If I shield, they land at range and grab/dtilt stab me. If I try going to platforms above him, he will just utilt/uair me freely, as Marths do. If I retreat, they just repeat the process until I'm cornered and then dthrow me to gimpsville.
However, I notice that good Marths tend not to spam fair/nair, which suggests to me that there is a counterattack that I am too nooby to figure out. My ground movement is sluggish, I don't wavedash enough, and I greatly underuse nair.
What are some good ways to counter these types of Marths, and what does it seem like I'm lacking? Level up my movement? Wavedash OoS to shine/grab? Space my lasers better? Any help would be great.

Last edited:

1000g2g3g4g800999

Smash Journeyman
Move into a more comfortable position. If you can get in closer to Marth's zone in shield, you can nair oos vs early aerials, grab if he is close and not drifting out, shine, etc. You can just not get in range of the aerials as well, and try to time an approach so you'd get in his zone when hitboxes can't threaten you, but Marth might waveland away. You could try to use tilts, but Marth can cut those.