• Welcome to Smashboards, the world's largest Super Smash Brothers community! Over 250,000 Smash Bros. fans from around the world have come to discuss these great games in over 19 million posts!

You are currently viewing our boards as a visitor. Click here to sign up right now and start on your path in the Smash community!

How to deal with a fast/agro Fox?

Kai-MW

Smash Rookie
How do I deal with a very fast/agro fox as falco? I can't seem to get lasers out in time because he's so close to me and if I shield I get super pressured or grabbed. It feels really suffocating trying to deal with a fox like this and I can't seem to deal with it very well

Ezlo

Smash Cadet
Alright, so I'm no expert, but maybe my thoughts can help you out.

It seems to me like you're trying to play a campy strategy against an aggro strategy, and since our character is the slower one, that just doesn't work. Lasers are great to slow down your opponent, and they're great to help manipulate your opponent's actions, but you're right -- they suffer when your opponent is right up in your face, because of the long startup.

So, without lasers, you shield, which isn't a BAD option, but it's definitely limited, and it sounds like you're shielding... 'wrong,' if that makes sense. If you watch videos of really good players, you'll notice they don't shield for long periods of time almost ever, and when they do it's because they have very few other options. You should be shielding with the goal of getting out of shield asap. Practice your OoS options to make shielding better, but I think my next tip is most important.

Against any approach, you need to put up walling tools (utilt and bair for instance) preemptively. Otherwise, you'll be too late. This is a fox clip, but...
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NYEbo1FCKVc&t=8m48s
Leffen gets pushed into the corner, and rolls in after Mango's fair. Immediately, he utilts and traded with mango's bair.