• Welcome to Smashboards, the world's largest Super Smash Brothers community! Over 250,000 Smash Bros. fans from around the world have come to discuss these great games in over 19 million posts!

You are currently viewing our boards as a visitor. Click here to sign up right now and start on your path in the Smash community!

How do you deal with/learn from Losing Streaks in For Glory?

Status
Not open for further replies.

PixelPoet

Smash Rookie
NNID
forester13
3DS FC
4012-3895-9442
I just started playing For Glory today, thinking maybe I'm better than I thought. The first round was a win, and promising, but then afterwards I had something like seven consecutive losses and I felt pretty disheartened. After losing to the same guy nearly 5-6 times (mostly close losses except the last fight) I finally just had to walk away because I was getting too frustrated and beating myself up over it and my play was suffering from it.
I've had a while to calm myself down, beat up some Sandbags to help myself feel better, and now I'm trying to start reflecting on my losses and what I can learn from them, and how to deal with some big losing streaks in the future.

For me, I think it's that I get too nervous. Just the thought of going online in a game gives me some serious jitters, because when you're not actually seeing who you're fighting it's all too easy to imagine them as someone who's laughing at you and taunting you, for me at least. I always assume that I'm in the lowest skill category, even for games that I've played for a long time. My hands get kind of shaky and when I start to get dominated, I lose my composure, I keep imagining people laughing at me, and then every attack either gets blocked or punished, and then it just all goes downhill from there.