1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Welcome to Smashboards, the world's largest Super Smash Brothers community! Over 225,000 Smash Bros. fans from around the world have come to discuss these great games in over 19 million posts!

    You are currently viewing our boards as a visitor. Click here to sign up right now and start on your path in the Smash community!

  3. Right now the Smash Controller is on sale for $23 on Amazon! Get the Smash GameCube Controller now!

  4. Use the Smashboards Store to get awesome Smash stuff and support the site, like a Nintendo Controller or the Wii U - Gamecube adaptor ! Check out the inventory in our store and support Smashboards with your purchase today!

Smash Wii U Error Code 160-0103

Discussion in 'Wii U / 3DS General Discussion' started by DrRek, Nov 28, 2014.

  1. DrRek

    DrRek
    Expand Collapse
    Smash Apprentice

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2014
    Messages:
    105
    Location:
    Ypsilanti, MI
    3DS FC:
    0318-9137-4424
    NNID:
    Dr.Rek
    So, I got this error code yesterday and now I unable to play Smash Bros for the Wii U, in any mode.
    The story goes:
    I was playing For Glory mode yesterday morning then I was in a mode with a horrible amount of lag (I'm talking 2fps here) So, I did the unthinkable and quit the match. I tried to enter another match and it says "wait 10 minutes", so I got offline and started playing challenge mode. I turn the game off for about 6 hours.
    I turn the game on, I go through all the menus fine. I start a local Multiplayer match make to screen selection and BAM! I'm hit with this error code it say there is a problem with the system memory.
    So, I try some other games and they work fine. Then I try deleting my Smash Bros.'s data. The save data and Shared data are erased easily, but with I try deleting the Update Data I get a similar error about system memory.
    This location in my Wii U memory has problem reading the update data. So I know that the next option is to either format my Wii U or send it in for repairs neither is an optimal solution.
    Are there any fixes that you guys may know?
     
  2. FantasticFranco

    FantasticFranco
    Expand Collapse
    Smash Rookie

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    DO NOT FORMAT YOUR CONSOLE

    Holy crap, I did that now I can't play anything. Everything that you wrote about has happened to me but I actually TRIED to format. Now, I'm stuck at the "erasing all saved data" screen and my wii u gamepad is stuck in that white screen that tells you how to connect your wii u to your tv in English, French, Spanish, and Italian.

    As for the cure, I have none. Godspeed brother, hopefully you don't have to send your console back.
     
    #2 FantasticFranco, Nov 28, 2014
    Last edited: Nov 28, 2014
  3. DrRek

    DrRek
    Expand Collapse
    Smash Apprentice

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2014
    Messages:
    105
    Location:
    Ypsilanti, MI
    3DS FC:
    0318-9137-4424
    NNID:
    Dr.Rek
    Man, I'm sorry to hear that. I hope you backed up everything before you did that :(
    I've seen this issue pop-up on a couple of groups that I'm in, so this is a bit of a problem for a few people. Hopefully there is a patch on the way.
    My Wii U is nearly 2 years old now and I've never had this issue with another game. I'm guessing it has something to do with the update data for Smash Bros. I'm going to contact Nintendo tomorrow and see what advice they have to offer, thanks for the warning. I'll make sure to post any info they give me that may help. Until then looks like no smash 4 for a while :(
     
  4. teDDieh

    teDDieh
    Expand Collapse
    Smash Rookie

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Hey mate,
    i got the same Problem aswell. I already contacted Nintendo, and their only option was also to send it in.
    I searched the net for any other options, and it appears that more and more players are experiencing this problem. So i hope that there will be an update/patch soon, to fix this, since Nintendo wont be able to handle all those repairs and its clearly a Data default and not a Hardware troubleshoot.
    Do you got any News or Solutions?
     
  5. Olise

    Olise
    Expand Collapse
    Smash Rookie

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    I also got this error code and I made a video about it to demonstrate my problem.
    But when I put my disc in I can't even get to see the main menu it gives me the error code.
    Hope it's just a Nintendo problem because my wii u is fairly new.
     
  6. teDDieh

    teDDieh
    Expand Collapse
    Smash Rookie

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Did it happen to you after the Smash Bros 1.0.1 update aswell?
     
  7. xHackAttackx

    xHackAttackx
    Expand Collapse
    Smash Ace

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    736
    Location:
    Canada
    Haven't experienced this personally, but it sounds like it's something on Nintendo's end, since it seems to be reasonably common. Guess the best thing to do is to either send it to them or wait and keep calling them each day to get a status report on the issue, and hope that there's a patch for it soon.

    Best of luck.
     
    #7 xHackAttackx, Nov 29, 2014
    Last edited: Nov 29, 2014
  8. TimLikesTrains

    TimLikesTrains
    Expand Collapse
    Smash Rookie

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Location:
    St. Peters Missouri
    3DS FC:
    1220-6693-9429
    NNID:
    TimPrater
    I'm not even able to start my Smash Bros anymore. It just comes up with the error, so I tried deleting the Smash Bros Data, and the Update Data didn't allow me to delete it. So my only hope is to wait and see if the next Update somehow fixes it..
     
  9. Gidy

    Gidy
    Expand Collapse
    Smash Lord

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2014
    Messages:
    1,638
    Location:
    Michigan
    3DS FC:
    0834-3126-6726
    NNID:
    I-Gidy-I
    Luckily, I'm experiencing this with save data on a flash drive so I don't have to send in my console. However, I really don't wanna delete my data and have to unlock the abundance of unlockables in this game. I get the same error in Smash Bros as I do when I try to transfer to data over to my system memory. Bayonetta, which is also on my flash drive, runs perfectly fine so it's smashes fault.

    Is there any fix or are we boned?

    When trying to play, I get error code 160-0105 which and when trying to move the data I get error code 160-4712
     
    #9 Gidy, Nov 29, 2014
    Last edited: Nov 29, 2014
  10. arncakes

    arncakes
    Expand Collapse
    Smash Apprentice

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2014
    Messages:
    103
    Location:
    Canada
    NNID:
    arncakes
    I'm getting it too... the only thing I can play is Smash, every other mode has the risk of getting this error for me. For some reason, I can't play Meta Knight or training mode at all though. Already deleted all my data from the past week in an attempt to fix it, but the only way is to get rid of the stupid update file. Hope Nintendo can fix this.
     
  11. DrRek

    DrRek
    Expand Collapse
    Smash Apprentice

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2014
    Messages:
    105
    Location:
    Ypsilanti, MI
    3DS FC:
    0318-9137-4424
    NNID:
    Dr.Rek
    I've emailed Nintendo and I'm still waiting on a response.
    From what I've read online this is a corruption within the system memory, it has to do with the "flash-memory" of the console itself.
    This error has happened to multiple players on multiple Wii U titles. Since this is a problem with the system itself; it is unlikely that this can issue can be fixed by an update. I believe a patch could reduce the likelihood of this error, but not solve the issue if it has already occured, seeing how this is a hardware malfunction ( I could be mistaken by the nature of the issue).
    But judging on how a system factory reset can't fix the problem, I'm not 100% convinced that a software patch will solve it either.
    So, we may all just have to bite the bullet and send out consoles in and wait a few weeks for them to be repaired.

    That is, if my hypothesis is correct...

    One last thing: For me this is an issue with the Update Data for Smash only. Deleting the Save Data will not solve the problem (I've already tried). So don't delete all your hard work. Make a copy of the Save Data if you plan on Formatting your system.
    (Formatting is NOT recommended!!!).
    Formatting could potential brick your system, making it completely unusable.
     
    #11 DrRek, Nov 29, 2014
    Last edited: Nov 29, 2014
  12. Gidy

    Gidy
    Expand Collapse
    Smash Lord

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2014
    Messages:
    1,638
    Location:
    Michigan
    3DS FC:
    0834-3126-6726
    NNID:
    I-Gidy-I
    I had to reset my save data completely due to me not being able to move Smash save data to my system. Funny enough, I could move Bayonetta, a 11 GB game, just fine
     
  13. teDDieh

    teDDieh
    Expand Collapse
    Smash Rookie

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    It is definetly not a hardware problem. There is a malfunction in the update Data of smash bros, so a fix should be possible. Since more and more players are experiencing this problem daily, nintendo will have to react pretty fast. They would lose thousands of dollars by repairing hundreds of consoles.

    So thats why i wait for an update to fix this.
     
    taolem likes this.
  14. JonTVcentral

    JonTVcentral
    Expand Collapse
    Smash Rookie

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2014
    Messages:
    16
    This just happened to me yesterday, and I've been doing extensive research into this matter to figure out just what is going on. So from what I understand, this issue has to be related to Update Data from the Smash Bros game and not the Wii U itself. I can still use the console normally without any issues. I purchased Smash U on launch day and have had no issues at all until yesterday, peculiarly, the same time everyone has reported of this crisis. Other games and applications act fine. However, when I either access either Data Management or insert my Smash Brothers U disk, I get the infamous error codes.

    Error Code: 160-0103 (When attempting to insert Smash U into console)

    Error Code: 160-1710 (When attempting to access Data Management)

    Both of these, from online research, appear to be the same error, being "unable to find a specific error code" and suggest to either call Nintendo Support or ship the console for repairs. The fact that both errors are related to software data and that other applications work fine can only point to Smash U. It makes me wonder if there is some kind of infection going around, since not everyone has been afflicted. I played the "For Glory" mode for a few hours on my last session before this happened.Those who have called Nintendo Support seem to report that they are simply told to either format their console or ship them in. Well, formatting the Wii U seems to clearly brick the system for those who have done so. I think Nintendo is not even aware of the issue and hasn't yet acknowledged it since they are telling people to just format their system, only causing bricking. I hope that light is shed on this issue so we the victims do not have to spend hundreds of more dollars for repairs.
     
    #14 JonTVcentral, Nov 30, 2014
    Last edited: Nov 30, 2014
  15. DrRek

    DrRek
    Expand Collapse
    Smash Apprentice

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2014
    Messages:
    105
    Location:
    Ypsilanti, MI
    3DS FC:
    0318-9137-4424
    NNID:
    Dr.Rek
    If this was simply a data issue then wiping it via system reset should fix the problem. However if it is a software issue and it can be solved with an update then what caused the problem in the first place? This isn't a Smash Bros. Specific problem; this has happened in many different titles.
    The update data is being read/stored incorrectly, that we can say for sure. But why only select Wii Us?
    Maybe holding out for a update is the better solution. But this could take a while, as there hasn't been any type of announcement/acknowledgment on this issue.
     
  16. teDDieh

    teDDieh
    Expand Collapse
    Smash Rookie

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    I've never seen such a drastic announcement in the first week of a game release, just for the commercial factor, selling a game that can cause this fault that probably isn't solved yet, could result in a dropdown in sales.

    I've been researching, and the biggest problem is, that it is a Nintendo title, and therefore it is really hard to report software issues. At least i haven't found anywhere to report this, besides the bad trained Customerservice.

    I know that it happened before, but the cases before are very rare and most likely happened for a real technical issue.
    But the numbers this time are speaking against it, and maybe just make it look like hardware issue. Thats maybe, why nintendo doesnt realize this.

    Lets just hope for the best.
     
    Gidy and arncakes like this.
  17. DrRek

    DrRek
    Expand Collapse
    Smash Apprentice

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2014
    Messages:
    105
    Location:
    Ypsilanti, MI
    3DS FC:
    0318-9137-4424
    NNID:
    Dr.Rek
    You make some very good points, So I will report this issue again, in a few days if I don't get a response.

    Has then error been happening to a lot of people who were trying to play smash? I wasn't sure if this was an isolated incident due to this topic not being on Smashboards yet.
    . It is reassuring that this is a large problem; that means a larger error could be put towards solving it.
     
    #17 DrRek, Nov 30, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 2, 2014
  18. JonTVcentral

    JonTVcentral
    Expand Collapse
    Smash Rookie

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2014
    Messages:
    16
    I would probably guess that it definitely has been happening to a large group of people who are trying to play Smash, since the only searches I find online about the error codes are related to it and are all within November 22 to present. It couldn't be a coincidence, so must be probably isolated.
     
  19. DrRek

    DrRek
    Expand Collapse
    Smash Apprentice

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2014
    Messages:
    105
    Location:
    Ypsilanti, MI
    3DS FC:
    0318-9137-4424
    NNID:
    Dr.Rek
    I have found a posts about this error code. One was from Pikmin 3 the other from Mario 3D World, I wonder if this is just happening to older consoles. I bought mine about 2 years ago.
     
  20. TimLikesTrains

    TimLikesTrains
    Expand Collapse
    Smash Rookie

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Location:
    St. Peters Missouri
    3DS FC:
    1220-6693-9429
    NNID:
    TimPrater
    I bought mine this August specifically for Smash, and it was a new 32gb Deluxe Set.
     
  21. Maxoxpower

    Maxoxpower
    Expand Collapse
    Smash Journeyman

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2014
    Messages:
    381
    anyone got this error on digital games?
     
  22. teDDieh

    teDDieh
    Expand Collapse
    Smash Rookie

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Any updates from anyone ?
     
  23. Sephirothkefka

    Sephirothkefka
    Expand Collapse
    Smash Cadet

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2014
    Messages:
    25
    Location:
    At My house
    3DS FC:
    0344-9296-3509
    NNID:
    Sephirothkefka
    I would assume that the download failed and part of the flash memory or a file is screwed up. I'd just send the damn thing in. Although I can say is that when I got my Wii U for Christmas 2012, it was stuck loading NSMBU. I think deleting the update file and reinstalling it helped. Other wise no problems with mine :D
     
  24. JonTVcentral

    JonTVcentral
    Expand Collapse
    Smash Rookie

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2014
    Messages:
    16
    I do have some possible hope without wasting $150 on a repair. It seems someone else who had this issue for another game was able to have their console fixed from a System Update. If Nintendo just released any kind of update or patch, the consoles may be able to be saved. The only problem is, this may take a very long time until Nintendo has acknowledged this issue from enough people having faced the problem; or it may not be guaranteed to work. I see the number of affected users growing from day to day so that may help them realize the bigger picture. The article I found is here:

    http: //techforums.nintendo.com/message/145196#145196
     
    #24 JonTVcentral, Dec 1, 2014
    Last edited: Dec 1, 2014
  25. Sephirothkefka

    Sephirothkefka
    Expand Collapse
    Smash Cadet

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2014
    Messages:
    25
    Location:
    At My house
    3DS FC:
    0344-9296-3509
    NNID:
    Sephirothkefka
    I dunno about this... I would hope that it would be something the update repaired but it may not be known as to what either version 5.2.0 of the Wii U Menu or version 1.0.1 did for SSB. I'm also wondering about that Scribblenauts disc...
     
  26. Qzzy

    Qzzy
    Expand Collapse
    Smash Journeyman

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Messages:
    208
    Location:
    Hawthorne, CA
  27. Phenomiracle

    Phenomiracle
    Expand Collapse
    Smash Ace

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2012
    Messages:
    758
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Wow, these stories are quite scary.

    As of now, I've experienced no problems whatsoever, everything seems to be running smoothly. I got my Wii U from the Zelda WWHD Bundle.

    What do you guys recommend I do to prevent this problem from happening to me? Disconnect my Wii U from the internet entirely?
     
    #27 Phenomiracle, Dec 1, 2014
    Last edited: Dec 1, 2014
  28. Taiko no Professor Layton

    Taiko no Professor Layton
    Expand Collapse
    Sinbads loyal advisor| Trap Queen♥

    • Premium
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2014
    Messages:
    36,219
    Location:
    Inaba and Sindria
    So is this only on disk? I have digital but haven't heard anything from digitl
     
  29. Darrylols

    Darrylols
    Expand Collapse
    Smash Cadet

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2014
    Messages:
    56
    3DS FC:
    0044-2880-7964
    Haven't got a Wii U yet
    Afraid to play the game
     
  30. Caryslan

    Caryslan
    Expand Collapse
    Smash Apprentice

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2010
    Messages:
    108
    Well, I'll just play Mario Kart 8 and 3D World for the time being until this gets fixed. And if it can't be fixed, then I'll sell the game for some credit.

    I love Smash Bros, but I'm not going to risk my Wii U to play it. I have the 3DS version if I need to get my Smash fix. At least there, I can stay offline if I want to avoid any errors.

    I am a little bothered by the errors that are popping up in both versions of Smash. Maybe the development of 2 versions at the same time spread the team kind thin and took away some quality control.
     
    CyberHyperPhoenix likes this.
  31. CyberHyperPhoenix

    CyberHyperPhoenix
    Expand Collapse
    "Download Complete."

    • Premium
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2014
    Messages:
    11,249
    Location:
    Going to the Water Park
    NNID:
    Kusanagi15
    Anyone know if this is affecting anyone that digitally downloaded it or what?
     
  32. Taiko no Professor Layton

    Taiko no Professor Layton
    Expand Collapse
    Sinbads loyal advisor| Trap Queen♥

    • Premium
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2014
    Messages:
    36,219
    Location:
    Inaba and Sindria
    Thats my question but I haven't came across the error and I downloaded. but I cant really get an answer out of anyone
     
    CyberHyperPhoenix likes this.
  33. Tobi_Whatever

    Tobi_Whatever
    Expand Collapse
    あんたバカァ~!?

    • Premium
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    2,647
    Location:
    Germany
    NNID:
    Tobi_whatever
    This will be fixed within the next 3 days at maximum.
     
  34. PlanFive

    PlanFive
    Expand Collapse
    Smash Rookie

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2014
    Messages:
    20
    Hello everyone! While I am lucky enough not to get this error code, I did a quick check out of curiosity on the internet on other message boards regarding that error code when people get it playing other games. It seems like when other people get it in other games, the error occurs when they turn off the system when the game is trying to autosave data. I checked and realized that in the main menus in Smash that there are no indicators of when the game is trying to load or save data, minus the loading screens when entering and exiting a match. Possibly, the game could be saving something in the background without the user knowing it, and if the user turns off the system while doing so, it could corrupt the game data.

    All this is theoretical and should be taken with a grain of salt, but it would connect some of the points made by other users in this thread on how Smash is causing the issue and how other games work fine.
     
  35. Taiko no Professor Layton

    Taiko no Professor Layton
    Expand Collapse
    Sinbads loyal advisor| Trap Queen♥

    • Premium
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2014
    Messages:
    36,219
    Location:
    Inaba and Sindria
    if the auto save is the problem, i always go back to the title screen anyway so maybe I'm safe when I do that
     
    BigLord likes this.
  36. Toph_87

    Toph_87
    Expand Collapse
    Smash Apprentice

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2013
    Messages:
    163
    Location:
    Destiny Island
    Just got my Wii U and Smash Bundle in the mail two days ago. Scared as crap to hook up either one now. Think I'll just play Mario Kart 8 instead....
     
    Dark 3nergy likes this.
  37. Hartenberg

    Hartenberg
    Expand Collapse
    Smash Apprentice

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2014
    Messages:
    184
    Location:
    Chesapeake, Virginia
    3DS FC:
    1220-8573-2488
    NNID:
    Hartenberg
    It looks like all the people having problems with this are people who own a physical copy of the game. I have yet to see one person with a digital copy be affected by the error code. So hopefully I, as well as many others, are in the clear

    For those who have been affected by it, I'm sorry. I hope everything gets fixed for you guys somehow.

    These damn AAA games are a nightmare it seems....
     
  38. SmashBall2012

    SmashBall2012
    Expand Collapse
    Smash Rookie

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2012
    Messages:
    21
    NNID:
    MH1994

    How are you sure about that?

    Ever since I heard about the error code today, I couldn't play Smash Bros for Wii U today cause I wanted to avoid those error codes and a bricked Wii U at all costs.
    I only went online once in a For Fun battle which lagged horribly, and that's all I did with Online mode. For the most part I didn't have my internet hotspot running on my laptop when playing Smash Bros for Wii U.

    Guess the safest thing to do now is to wait for Nintendo to get their hands on this and try and fix it up I suppose.
     
  39. Pale Tuna

    Pale Tuna
    Expand Collapse
    Smash Apprentice

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2014
    Messages:
    188
    Location:
    Riverview, Florida
    NNID:
    Sdarian
    This worries me as I have just played For Glory today. Hope everything will be fine tomorrow morning...
     
  40. Hartenberg

    Hartenberg
    Expand Collapse
    Smash Apprentice

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2014
    Messages:
    184
    Location:
    Chesapeake, Virginia
    3DS FC:
    1220-8573-2488
    NNID:
    Hartenberg
    My advice to anyone is if you want to play Smash, just do so offline. That's what I plan on doing. DO NOT TOUCH FOR GLORY. At all. A lot of the problems seem to be stemming from there (whether that is coincidence or not, is up for speculation) Whether you have digital or physical copies. Just wait until we get an official announcement from Nintendo on all of this.
     

Share This Page

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

We know you don't like ads
Why not buy Premium?