• Welcome to Smashboards, the world's largest Super Smash Brothers community! Over 250,000 Smash Bros. fans from around the world have come to discuss these great games in over 19 million posts!

You are currently viewing our boards as a visitor. Click here to sign up right now and start on your path in the Smash community!

Does it have to be CRTs?

Counterpwnt

Smash Rookie
NNID
Counterpwnt
I'm a TV reviewer by trade, and have noticed the severe prevalence of CRT-style TVs at Smash events and tournies. I know the reasoning for this is that CRTs have much less input lag than circa 2003-2006 LCD TVs, but is it really still so notable even against modern gaming monitors and the like? Or is it more of an affordability thing?

I have a 24-inch gaming monitor that I currently don't use, it has a very low response time (2 or 3 ms) and seems like it would be great for something like Smash. It doesn't have component/composite inputs though, only HDMI/VGA/DVI-D. Is there some reason Melee/PM aren't being played on a Wii with an HDMI cable into more modern TVs?

Just curious as to why the TV tech hasn't been updated for these events in so long. Thanks! Seems like one good way to maintain the relevancy and watchability of the events, to me, would be to update the screen size/castability of the matches by utilizing bigger screens.

Keebler

Smash Cadet
I believe at this point that it is a tradition thing, as well as a potential cost factor. I can buy a 27in. CRT for $30 whereas a 27in. LCD would cost me $100-$300.

Clocked

Smash Apprentice
Thrift stores have them for really low prices, I've heard some people looking for them at the dump even. Craigslist isn't a bad place to look.

Redact

Professional Nice Guy