• Welcome to Smashboards, the world's largest Super Smash Brothers community! Over 250,000 Smash Bros. fans from around the world have come to discuss these great games in over 19 million posts!

    You are currently viewing our boards as a visitor. Click here to sign up right now and start on your path in the Smash community!

COMPETITIVE Brawl+: Code Agenda

spunit262

Smash Journeyman
Joined
Oct 15, 2008
Messages
421
Ugh a night of fruitless labour. I found the ASM code that governs the effects of gravity, but no way to make it character specific without the aid of the merger code. And I tried to tackle a global velocity modifier, but ended up achieving nothing. Ah, well. I'm sure I'll figure something out.

Spunit, can it be assumed that all registers are safe for the C0 codetypes?
Not positive, but r0 and r3-r12 should be safe, as they are consider volatile.
http://www.nersc.gov/vendor_docs/ibm/asm/linkage_convent.htm
 

kupo15

Smash Hero
Joined
Mar 14, 2008
Messages
7,002
Location
Playing Melee
Some bad news regarding the teching code I wanted to let you guys know. Maybe someone has some ideas
Phantom wings

Hmm... I beginning to seriously doubt my abilities in making a working version of this code... There seems to be way too many factors involved in the whole concept of ukemi to even begin to unravel the complex code it uses. There is not a single byte used in memory for the calculations concerning using Ukemi - the ASM is used for everything from reading the button input to reading you're coordinates and calculating you're position relative to the ground.(if there is a flag that is stored in memory, then it must be seriously hidden, because I have spent hours on end trying to find one.)

I have made a beta code using a simple override, but that even proved to be futile as it only provides for one of the four types of Ukemi(standard, wall, roof, and rolling - this code only provides for the standard Ukemi) so unless I make four separate codes to cover each instance, there isn't really a way for me to do this...
 

leafgreen386

Dirty camper
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Messages
3,577
Location
Playing melee and smash ultimate
The don't turn the code on Leaf. (Sorry if that sounded real **** like, couldn't figure out how to phrase it.) Sadly I feel this is one of those, can't have your cake and eat it too, kinda things.
I don't know a better way to respond to this except for... frick no. This has nothing to do with me. I never use the cstick to fast fall intentionally. But there ARE people who do, and I'd rather this not ruin it for them.

It has nothing to do with whether you're in an aerial. I made it so that you only FF if you hold down for 4 consecutive frames. You could change the number of frames you have to hold down for with another line.

0485E278 2C00000X

set it 0 and you can only FF with the C-stick.
Ah, I see. That's interesting. What value does the game usually use for determining how long you have to hold down to FF? 1 frame?

Also, AFAIK the game overrides your control stick input for a set number of frames to register the action on the c-stick. Do you (or anyone else here who wants to chime in) know how long this lasts? I would imagine it's only for one frame, meaning you could make it so you have to hold the control stick down for two frames for a minimal effect on normal FFing while removing c-stick FFs. This would still remove non-dair initiated c-stick FFs, but oh well. Four frames seems higher than it needs to be, which is the main reason I'm asking this.
 

SketchHurricane

Smash Ace
Joined
Mar 21, 2008
Messages
669
Location
Winter Park, FL
Good to see the line limit getting further and further away. We may even be able to fit in codes like CSS and Ness's bat makes a HRB sound (should anyone make it).
As a ness main, I demand this code be included! :p

So TJF and Lagless still dont work, right?

Even so, spunit's just about in the running for the Nobel Peace Prize with this crap he's been pulling off!
 

spunit262

Smash Journeyman
Joined
Oct 15, 2008
Messages
421
I don't know a better way to respond to this except for... frick no. This has nothing to do with me. I never use the cstick to fast fall intentionally. But there ARE people who do, and I'd rather this not ruin it for them.


Ah, I see. That's interesting. What value does the game usually use for determining how long you have to hold down to FF? 1 frame?

Also, AFAIK the game overrides your control stick input for a set number of frames to register the action on the c-stick. Do you (or anyone else here who wants to chime in) know how long this lasts? I would imagine it's only for one frame, meaning you could make it so you have to hold the control stick down for two frames for a minimal effect on normal FFing while removing c-stick FFs. This would still remove non-dair initiated c-stick FFs, but oh well. Four frames seems higher than it needs to be, which is the main reason I'm asking this.
It is 1 frame.
The game normally initiates a FF if you started holding down within 4 frames of when you can start a FF. I changed it so that it only initiates a FF if you after 4 frames instead of within 4 frames.
Also the game somehow is able to tell whether it was with the C-stick as ever time I tried a C-stick would result in a count of 0, but a Control stick would always start at 1.
 

Eight 52

Smash Journeyman
Joined
Feb 14, 2008
Messages
339
Location
Tempe, AZ
I know this may have been suggested or not, but could it be possible to add super armor some of bowser's attacks. He is the one character that needs a boost compared to everyone else. I alwasy imagined Bowser as complete power, where he doesn't need to combo and should be able to tank moves. The state he's in right now is a giant punching bag.
 

leafgreen386

Dirty camper
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Messages
3,577
Location
Playing melee and smash ultimate
I know this may have been suggested or not, but could it be possible to add super armor some of bowser's attacks. He is the one character that needs a boost compared to everyone else. I alwasy imagined Bowser as complete power, where he doesn't need to combo and should be able to tank moves. The state he's in right now is a giant punching bag.
We have a whole thread about buffing bowser on brawl+ brigade: http://z13.invisionfree.com/BrawlPLUS_Brigade/index.php?showtopic=6
 

kupo15

Smash Hero
Joined
Mar 14, 2008
Messages
7,002
Location
Playing Melee
Spunit, do you mind making the lagless ledge code as a stand alone code just like the no auto sweet spot code? Once I set the value, I won't change it and it would be easier than to have it mixed in with the other constantly changing codes.
 

Problem2

Smash Champion
Joined
Jun 12, 2006
Messages
2,318
Location
Crowley/Fort Worth, TX
NNID
Problem0
Just wanted to say, I haven't really touched up on Brawl+ in a long time. I've been actually playing normal Brawl because of it being more widely accepted, and... I'll admit I kind of like it now.

Anyways, I'm so far behind on codes that I had to just go off of one of the standard code suggestions and work my way backwards from there till I found what I liked. Really the only thing I didn't like was the recommended shield stun (seemed like it was too much).
 

kupo15

Smash Hero
Joined
Mar 14, 2008
Messages
7,002
Location
Playing Melee
what was the recommended shield stun? It might be too much Other than that, what do you think of B+ now after playing brawl for so long?
 

Shell

Flute-Fox Only
Joined
Feb 7, 2007
Messages
2,042
I played for a few hours tonight with some guys. At first, I tried to just use Kupo's with a .9 SH. This produced the sliding SH. No Good. Then I tried Mookie's with .9 SH. Same problem. What's up?

Also, I think the C-stick code may be crashing my Wii. I'll try runing the game with just it. Otherwise, it might be conflicting with something.

EDIT: So the sliding SH occurs on Kupo's default settings as well. I might be able to get used to it, but I'd like to turn it off for now. Can anyone help?

Testing C-stick crash now...
 

Dan_X

Smash Lord
Joined
Mar 14, 2008
Messages
1,335
Location
Boston, MA
Kupo, could you update the HAD code in the OP from my thread here? The code is the same, it's still 90 lines, PW just explained the code, and showed how to change the timer in float point. I don't really know how to figure this myself because I'm so bad at stuff like this, and would like others to help me find the best timer delay in frames. :)

Thanks man
 

zxeon

Smash Lord
Joined
Apr 11, 2006
Messages
1,476
Location
Indianapolis, Indiana
I played for a few hours tonight with some guys. At first, I tried to just use Kupo's with a .9 SH. This produced the sliding SH. No Good. Then I tried Mookie's with .9 SH. Same problem. What's up?

Also, I think the C-stick code may be crashing my Wii. I'll try runing the game with just it. Otherwise, it might be conflicting with something.

EDIT: So the sliding SH occurs on Kupo's default settings as well. I might be able to get used to it, but I'd like to turn it off for now. Can anyone help?

Testing C-stick crash now...
I've been using Mookies code list + no c-stick FF and I haven't crashed.
 

kupo15

Smash Hero
Joined
Mar 14, 2008
Messages
7,002
Location
Playing Melee
I played for a few hours tonight with some guys. At first, I tried to just use Kupo's with a .9 SH. This produced the sliding SH. No Good. Then I tried Mookie's with .9 SH. Same problem. What's up?

Also, I think the C-stick code may be crashing my Wii. I'll try runing the game with just it. Otherwise, it might be conflicting with something.

EDIT: So the sliding SH occurs on Kupo's default settings as well. I might be able to get used to it, but I'd like to turn it off for now. Can anyone help?

Testing C-stick crash now...
Are you talking about when you jump? That is something spunit is hopefully fixing. The c stick shouldn't crash for you either

Kupo, could you update the HAD code in the OP from my thread here? The code is the same, it's still 90 lines, PW just explained the code, and showed how to change the timer in float point. I don't really know how to figure this myself because I'm so bad at stuff like this, and would like others to help me find the best timer delay in frames. :)

Thanks man
Done


I edited my values and updated my file
 

Shell

Flute-Fox Only
Joined
Feb 7, 2007
Messages
2,042
Okay, did more testing and it wasn't the C-stick code, had to be something else.
 

plasmatorture

Smash Journeyman
Joined
Oct 29, 2007
Messages
331
Location
Oregon
Not sure if anyone cares, but I was messing around with shield codes to see if I could mimick blocking from traditional fighting games just for kicks and out of boredom. My thought was - what if we had a shield that regenerated while you held it so it was always at maximum, and regenerated super fast when you were walking around - strong enough to block most attacks, but specific attacks like Shield Breaker and the like would still have a chance?

Unfortuantley, the end result at this point is that it's impossible. To achieve a regenerating shield that regenerates while being held requires a negative value for shield loss. That's fine. Unfortuantley, it seems that there is a dropoff point where anything smaller than -1 (from my testing) instead acts as if it were -1. My first shot was -99, and, well, you can see what a disaster that is after holding the shield for a good 10 seconds (Note: it doesn't actually zoom out like that automatically, I just mean it's stupid to have a shield that covers the entire screen). I went to -1 and it was mediocre, so I tried -.5 and it felt the same, and then -.15 and again it felt the same as -1.

My next thought was to fix the problem of ever expanding shields by changing the shield max to 20 (somewhat arbitrary), but that only affects the most Shield Gain can regen you. Unfortuantley, I didn't want shield damage to do much with this concept so that's a problem. If only the shield max cap applied to negative shield loss...

Now, here are the values I last used and it IS somewhat playable. A player could just sit and grow a huge shield if they wanted, but the opponent can move freely within the shield and grab you whenever they wanted. If timed properly, Marth's uncharged B and DK's Side-B both break the shield in one hit. Pound takes two hits. Yoshi's dair won't break it but if you follow with a tilt or another quick dair it works. However it isn't nearly the way I want it to be.

Code:
Shield Max [spunit262]
04B88440 41A00000
20

Shield Loss [spunit262]
* 04B88450 BE8F5C28
-.5

Shield Gain [spunit262]
* 04B88454 42C60000
99

Shield damage ratio [spunit262]
* 04B8847C 3E199999
.15

If I didn't want to perserve moves like Marth's B, I would set Shield Damage to 0, Shield Loss to 0, up shield max to 60 or 70, and increase shieldstun by quite a bit. But that's a boring and obvious solution, and who really wants trad fighter shields anyways?

Just a little experiment was all.

I wonder what happens if you have a negative Shield Gain value. Paired with a negative Shield Loss value, that'd be pretty interesting I think. You would lose shield as you didn't use it, and would have to "charge" it or something by holding shield out. I might mess with that.



ON a related dissapointment note, I've decided that the directional air dodge from HAD is way too long and game breaking, and despite how much I thought I wanted it I see now that it's unbalanced and blows. I haven't played against a human with it yet, so I'll give it one more shot, but it's not looking too good.
 

MuBa

Smash Lord
Joined
Nov 4, 2005
Messages
1,958
Location
Dragon Kick you into the Milky Way!
....And why was my set removed? I know it's not popular atm but it's still fun and tourney worthy >_>


Well w/e, I'll be making the ultimate fun speed activate code set in the near future for all the fast paced lovers out there >=)
 

cAm8ooo

Smash Lord
Joined
Dec 22, 2005
Messages
1,059
Location
Kentucky
ugh, an ice storm came and knocked out my entire countys power for a week. Right now im at a friends house. Hopefuly i get power back soon :(

Anyways, i see we got some new codes. I cant wait to test the no FF on cstick and im glad to see Mookies codeset in the OP.

edit: woot woot, faster throws. :)
 

trojanpooh

Smash Lord
Joined
Oct 23, 2007
Messages
1,183
Kupo when you get the time do you think you could add a small description to all the codes on the to do list. You have like a sentence for a couple but not all of them. I'm not sure I really understand what all of them mean.
 

Dark Sonic

Smash Hero
Joined
Jun 10, 2006
Messages
6,021
Location
Orlando Florida
Kupo when you get the time do you think you could add a small description to all the codes on the to do list. You have like a sentence for a couple but not all of them. I'm not sure I really understand what all of them mean.
^^This.

And please list the default values for the codes as well.
 

Problem2

Smash Champion
Joined
Jun 12, 2006
Messages
2,318
Location
Crowley/Fort Worth, TX
NNID
Problem0
what was the recommended shield stun? It might be too much Other than that, what do you think of B+ now after playing brawl for so long?
Brawl+ definately plays a lot more like 64 and Melee, which is what it is trying to accomplish. Now that I lowered the shield stun a tad, I really like it. I feel a balance between risk and reward for the shielder. The hitlag reduction is pretty cool. Makes waiting not so long now lol.

One thing thing that was weird to me was the buffering code. With out the 10 frames of buffering, I enjoy being able to control my character much more precisely, but I find myself rapidly pressing the jump button when I'm knocked off stage because I never really know when I'll get to jump. Also, no buffer messed up my timing with Fox's shine to jump. I'm use to Melee where it cancels and even though it doesn't in Brawl, the buffer allowed you to press the buttons just as fast. Now you'll die if you don't wait until the move is finished. Not a bad thing, just different.
 

Almas

Smash Lord
Joined
Jul 6, 2008
Messages
1,588
Dark Sonic, you have access to that board for a reason. I'd appreciate your input there =).
 

Omnigamer

All the things
BRoomer
Joined
Jun 16, 2003
Messages
4,412
Location
Boston, MA
Has anything been attempted with light/analog shielding? It's definitely something I've missed from Melee, and I'd like to play around with that if possible for Brawl.
 

Dark Sonic

Smash Hero
Joined
Jun 10, 2006
Messages
6,021
Location
Orlando Florida
How do you edit the HAD code?

I keep shielding after my wavedashes (and I'm on zero buffer), so i want to add some frames to the "unable to take actions because the airdodge was interrupted" part.
 

Revven

FrankerZ
Joined
Apr 27, 2006
Messages
7,550
Location
Cleveland, Ohio
Has anything been attempted with light/analog shielding? It's definitely something I've missed from Melee, and I'd like to play around with that if possible for Brawl.
I wouldn't get too hopeful for that. I don't even think it'd be possible... because I don't believe the game can tell the difference between the two button presses like in Melee. That and any traces of it probably don't exist in the RAM.
 

leafgreen386

Dirty camper
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Messages
3,577
Location
Playing melee and smash ultimate
How do you edit the HAD code?

I keep shielding after my wavedashes (and I'm on zero buffer), so i want to add some frames to the "unable to take actions because the airdodge was interrupted" part.
It doesn't make you unable to take actions. It just makes you unable to do another directional airdodge. Meaning you can still do WD -> instant attack.
 

kupo15

Smash Hero
Joined
Mar 14, 2008
Messages
7,002
Location
Playing Melee
It was 11/22/5 for the shieldstun (which you've failed to change in your text file I believe D: ).
No I changed my text file but I may have forgotten to change the codes.

I'll provide more of a description and about the defaults, I provide what I'm given. Most of the time I am not given a default value.
 

Link_enfant

Smash Apprentice
Joined
Nov 27, 2005
Messages
92
Location
France
I enjoyed a lot the last update of Mookie's codeset, but I think it would be better with the lagless edges code, I wonder why it isn't in it ? Or maybe it doesn't work =x
Also, the one line triple jump fix code seems to not work. I've got the lag a lot of times playing Captain Falcon :dizzy:
I've not read all of the last posts, so maybe it's already known, sorry if it's the case =o
Let's go for kupo's set :)
 

kupo15

Smash Hero
Joined
Mar 14, 2008
Messages
7,002
Location
Playing Melee
I enjoyed a lot the last update of Mookie's codeset, but I think it would be better with the lagless edges code, I wonder why it isn't in it ? Or maybe it doesn't work =x
Also, the one line triple jump fix code seems to not work. I've got the lag a lot of times playing Captain Falcon :dizzy:
I've not read all of the last posts, so maybe it's already known, sorry if it's the case =o
Let's go for kupo's set :)
Yea, the spunit codes of those two don't work yet which is prob what mookie has on, but I added pw stand alone ones until spunit fixes them so mine work.
 

Link_enfant

Smash Apprentice
Joined
Nov 27, 2005
Messages
92
Location
France
Your code set is very cool too, kupo :)
Anyway, is it normal that normal fallspeed (not when I fastfall) doesn't change ?
Also, if short hops could be reduced a bit like in mookie's set that would be way better imo :)

oh btw, the no fastfall on C-stick code just works perfectly, I wanted this code so much, this is amazing ! =D
 

kupo15

Smash Hero
Joined
Mar 14, 2008
Messages
7,002
Location
Playing Melee
The normal falling is slightly faster and I won't get the SH thing until the specific SH code comes out which should be any day
 

ynnek123

Smash Ace
Joined
Dec 16, 2006
Messages
781
Location
Belgium, Antwerp
I'm doing something wrong...again >_> when i start brawl via gecko it finds the hacks file but after that it says "no SD codes found" and none of the codes work...I could use a little help here :p
 

Almas

Smash Lord
Joined
Jul 6, 2008
Messages
1,588
How do you know if it finds the hack file if it says 'No SD codes found'? To me, that would suggest that it DIDN'T find the hack file.
 
Top Bottom