• Welcome to Smashboards, the world's largest Super Smash Brothers community! Over 250,000 Smash Bros. fans from around the world have come to discuss these great games in over 19 million posts!

You are currently viewing our boards as a visitor. Click here to sign up right now and start on your path in the Smash community!

Aspiring Kirby Player

Brendanjack16

Smash Rookie
Any advice for a new Kirby main, I just started playing him recently because Marth was boring me and I also liked Kirby.

D

Deleted member

Pick a better character
Play a better smash. I recommend brawl.
Oh, stop teasing him. It's good to see more people use lower-tiered characters. I, being a 56-year-old female Smasher, have recently taken in :zeldamelee: to main alongside my girl :peachmelee: myself.

Any advice for a new Kirby main, I just started playing him recently because Marth was boring me and I also liked Kirby.
Some suggestions from Grandma Shizuka:
  • It appears you have :marthmelee: experience. Do not drop him entirely; keep him as a secondary at least. Obviously he has a far superior match-up spread.
  • Do not bother using :kirbymelee:'s Hammer. There is no reason to use it. The sweetspot is a pain to land and will get you in a lot of trouble if it did not connect.
  • Some of your most important moves include u-tilt, f-air and b-air. They have a good number of uses such as spacing, edge-guards, punishes, what have you.
  • It appears that Kirby does not like to recover low. He can get spiked or edge-hogged easily this way especially since Final Cutter offers him almost no horizontal distance while also having a lackluster air speed. So, take a page from :jigglypuffmelee: or my girl Peach and recover from above. If that is not the case, use f-airs after each jump to dissuade the edge-guarder.